911 with crusty sills

1. NedHan79 New Member

I bought a 911(996) last year. I had serious back problems and couldn’t get under it when buying it so I took a chance. It was waxoiled so that should have been a red flag. It’s mot time and it needs brake pipes which requires at least the gearbox out. I thought I’d clean the waxoil off and get a proper look and sort anything that needs doing. One thing leads to another and I’ve half the car stripped, bumpers, wings, bonnet and skirts.

As most of you know, skirts are a curse for rusty sills.
    I’ve cut the bottom half from one side and I plan to make it. When this was removed I could see the state of the inner sill. Both ends are rotten in the arches and I’ll sort that too. I’ve never done this before but I’m handy with a mig(mostly heavier stuff).

I have some templates made so ready to cut out so im ready to start welding. I won’t be using new genuine parts as the outer sills are in 2 parts, the rear part being the quarter panel.

I’m open to any and all tips.

• F1ED0327-97BF-4D41-9799-7B283CC2650E.jpeg
    • 879986CE-5209-449F-9D04-4070223DC636.jpeg
    • CD353FA1-1846-4A41-8FB6-0F077EFFFDE1.jpeg
    Exuptoy and ronan like this.
  2. NedHan79 New Member

More pictures with a previous poor repair

• B3055E06-7E2F-4A62-AC9F-462FC365A267.jpeg
    • 9B35F3A5-D67B-4E63-831C-7C28598295AC.jpeg
  3. ronan

ronan Member

dublin
    Wow, thats rotten as a pear. Didn't think Porsches were that bad for rot.

NedHan79 likes this.
  4. NedHan79 New Member

It’s not as bad as it looks as it’s all localised to the sill sections. Floor is all very tidy. A lot of 996’s will start to show up with sill problems. I’ve seen a few and they didn’t have skirts.

stuvy and ronan like this.
  5. ronan

ronan Member

dublin
    Are repair panels available ?

NedHan79 likes this.
  6. NedHan79 New Member

Only genuine full parts so I’m gonna have to make it all. Shouldn’t be too bad as it’s all straight forward. Famous last words