Cheaper Welding machines

1. Andrew Hayes

Andrew Hayes Member

Hello, new here but long time lurker looking at peoples advice on welding machines.

Im somewhat new to welding with 1 years on the job experiance and a Lvl 1-2 C&G Mig and currently studying lvl 1 C&G MMA, still learning and still wet behind the ears !

Welding machines rebranded & branded.

Im in the market for a 200-250amp MIG/MMA machine and have been looking in to the cheaper sub £500 area for some time now and from what i have read from you guys you seem to not ''HATE'' Sherman, Static Arc and the Rohr brand.
    From reviews i find on these brands they seem pretty decent for a home user and not using it in and industrial setting.

Another question is, is there any good cheaper brands that give you full knobbed control of Volts & Feed for both MIG and MMA, the switch type are just pointless as they dont give you fine control of either functions.

2. zzr1200

zzr1200 Working at 650 ft on open steel work

3. Andrew Hayes

Andrew Hayes Member

They are just MMa machines? I did look at the other machines they have for sale but couldnt find much if anything at the amps/price i am after, thank you for the suggestion though.

4. Andrew Hayes

Andrew Hayes Member

5. Tangledfeet

Tangledfeet #1 Fan of 3M's VHB tape

Lincoln Bester 190C..?

It'll do MIG. MMA and give you the option to try lift TIG - and is in the ball park (maybe a tad more) of your budget. Sold by several proper welding suppliers so properly supported. A quick search shows at least two forum members have them and seem to be impressed.

roblane65, Mark 2 and stuvy like this.
  6. Andrew Hayes

Andrew Hayes Member

I use a Lincoln in work but obviously not this small.
    Only gripe i have with the suggested machine is its less than 200amp. But bloody good make and no doubt an amazing machine so ill consider it in my final choice.

thank you very kindly.

Quick other question, can you use any mig machine gasless ?

7. gt6s Member