Worst beginner welder on the planet needing advice :/

1. Sparkyboi Member

First off I'd like to say hello to everyone, so hello!

I am completely new to welding of any sort and have never even so much as watched someone weld before now! I have been introduced to learning welding by pure necessity, My car is a 17 year old K11 Micra which I have been restoring as a project (like the car a lot and it's very very economical in every way, parts, insurance, fuel, tax, easy to fix, no finance etc) but the little K11 has some rot at the sills like most of them, and also needs the rear spring perch welded as it's crumbling away. I'm very good at mechanics, I can fix most things on an older car and figure out anything I don't know by myself but really need to add welding to my skill sets.

So I decided instead of paying whatever it costs every year to have welding done (presumably hundreds a time) I would invest a hundred quid in a little used Snap-mig/Cebora 130. I'm using it with flux core wire due to living very high up/sever winds and gas just being inpractical for me/no space to store. Reading the reviews it seems this welder is very good for the money - mine came with a spare 2nd one! So I grabbed it up and purchased auto mask, slag hammer, tips bla bla and set to rebuilding the old machine.

The earth was corroded and frayed to heck at the clamp and also inside, so I completely rebuilt the earth cutting out the bad ends and cleaned up the clamp. I also cleaned the contacts and greased the wire feed gearing and fitted a new sleeve liner.