Testing out tig, no arc

1. seileren New Member

Hi

I've never done any welding before and just aquired an old kemppi ekatig 160HF (3phase transformer, DC). It has stick mode and TIG with HF. Stick mode seems to work fine, but in TIG mode I get little action. Zero response trying scratch start, but when pushing/holding in the HF button on the torch I get sparks but are not able to strike an arc. I did not connect Argon gas for the test, thought I should be able to atleast get a little arc going without?

I successfully tested continuity between DCEN, the gas connector for the torch, and the tungsten tip. Measuring voltage between DCEN and DCEP on the machine i get 0v in TIG mode, is this correct? When holding in the HF button I get voltage. If I've read correctly you just push/hold the HF to get an arc going, not needing to hold it in while welding?

From the manual:
    The TIG high-frequency unit accommodates the ignition of the TIG arc without touching. The high frequency unit also has a controller for the contactor and time control for gas post flow.

welding current values: idle voltage = 98V. (I guess this should be same for stick and tig mode?)

Thanks for any help/reply!

Last edited: Feb 17, 2018
  2. Paul.

Paul. Moderator Staff Member

When you say HF button do you mean the torch switch?, you need to keep that pressed, the hf will initiate the arc then switch itself off when the machine senses that the arc is established, keep it pressed while welding then release button to stop welding.

3. seileren New Member

Paul: Yep! Sorry I'm not that much into the terminology yet. Should there be any idle voltage when its not pressed? I see manual says idle voltage=98V, but it doesnt say in which mode (I assume both). I guess this means I should measure ~98V between DCEN and DCEP when its powered on and don't have the torch switch pressed? I get 0V in TIG mode.