Sealey supermig 180 died !

1. Nigee161 New Member

Good evening peeps, newbie to the site and yes you’ve guessed it “ Houston we have a problem “.
    I’ve had my welder for a good few years now and apart from replacing the torch and cable it’s been spot on. Then today midway through welding a panel it just stopped. The fan still runs but on pulling the trigger nothing , no gas , no click , no wire nada. Unfortunately I’m not that technically aufait it works or doesn’t ooops. So basically in layman’s terms I’m hoping that maybe some kind soul may be able to shed some light on the problem. Many thanks in advance

2. gaz1

gaz1 Member

look at pcb board look for a box thats see through look to see if its dirty grey black sooty inside of it

after that its a tester for you thats needed

Nigee161 and a111r like this.
  3. a111r Member

Welcome!
    There's no external fuse access on these. Take the side panel off and you will likely find one, 1.5 amps, on an auxiliary transformer mounted to the case.
    If that has blown after replacement, my thread on this may help.

gaz1 likes this.
  4. a111r Member

5. Nigee161 New Member

B3E7DD5E-9756-4120-B9BE-ADCD5A9D7939.jpeg B93F9DAC-3BFC-4614-A7C8-F4DC74DDAAF7.jpeg 47D43C74-8E3B-4F45-96A3-21CD5218E92E.jpeg 3FF7B6E8-33A6-4FEE-97C5-FF5B57396E36.jpeg 2FC6E664-47AC-4F12-B101-695B65E3ECE2.jpeg

6. Nigee161 New Member

Thanks for the reply’s. I’ve taken the case off and taken a few pics but alas I can’t seem to find either the fuse or the see through box !! To my untrained eye nothing seems frazzled on the board or anywhere else.

7. Nigee161 New Member

I guess a new pcb is required then

8. a111r Member

I'd hang fire before doing that, as it'll cost you nearly £100.
    Although J2 on the pcb looks iffy?...or, it might be a RELAY.

Can you post a general photo, showing everything inside?

Nigee161 and gaz1 like this.
  9. gaz1

gaz1 Member

getting old ones is hard so give a chance to find what you are after