Sandrail Engine swap

  1. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,713
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    I find wiring both frustrating and rewarding

    When I used to do daft things to Vauxhall’s they always had a separate engine loom, even if you had to separate it from the main loom, about 5 wires to be connected to the new car and that was it
     
  2. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    This one is not too bad. The engine and ecu are on one loom with a 30 pin connection. The battery/alt/starter are on another with the main fuse box. Then unfortunately there are a few ecu inputs that come through the general loom with everything else.
    Must resist the urge to start cutting!
     
    jpmillermatic likes this.
  3. jpmillermatic

    jpmillermatic Member

    Messages:
    776
    USA-NY
    resist! I hear ya....nothing like soldering wires back in place that you cut unnecessarily.....

    ;)

    JP
     
  4. PhillipM

    PhillipM Member

    Messages:
    1,803
    Rotherham
    I wish the honda had had a loom like that, the bloody thing tee-d off in about 96 places into loads of little ring-main type setups. I ended up just giving up and chopping off the connectors I couldn't buy and binning the rest :D
     
    Wightsparks likes this.
  5. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    All getting a bit "Mad Max" :D

    2018-05-12 18.32.29.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
  6. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    It... it... it's.... ALIVE!!

     
  7. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    Opened the loom.
    Seemed like a good idea at the time :laughing:

    2018-05-18 14.26.01.jpg
     
  8. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    Gave up trying to remove the circuits I don't need and just looked at the wiring loom/ECU plug and the main fuse plug and identified what I needed. Removed everything else in one go! -
    Unfortunately the 03 US wiring diagram I had was not completely the same and a lot of stuff changed 02-03. Resulting in a stressed few hours trying to figure out why the ECU was not turning on the main relay - only to discover with a slightly different diagram that I had removed the earth for the main relay coil thinking it was for the headlight adjuster - which it was as well :ashamed:

    2018-05-23 17.28.56.jpg

    What's left over

    2018-05-24 23.30.57.jpg

    Now it runs but idle is low and slightly erratic so off on a sensor hunt - though I have not actually removed any except the speed sensor so that might be it.

    Edit - yep the speed sensor, runs as before now
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
    garethp and Kayos like this.
  9. jpmillermatic

    jpmillermatic Member

    Messages:
    776
    USA-NY
    glad you found it quickly.....nice to have only removed one sensor!


    JP
     
  10. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    Removed a few, but that was the only one between running properly with full loom and running badly with the cut down loom.
    It's an odd one as it is a gearbox driven VR type that goes to the odometer computer to have its nasty signal cleaned up, then output as a nice square wave to the ECU and speedo.
    As I don't have the gearbox to drive it from I will need to see if I can get away with feeding a square wave in from a wheel sensor of some description, probably through an Arduino - if not I will need to hack the instrument panel tracks...

    Thinking about it I have the ABS rings on the Porsche back end, along with the sensors somewhere, that might be do-able, could even make my life easy and use one of these http://www.dakotadigital.com/index....ct_id=126/category_id=-1/mode=prod/prd126.htm
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2018
  11. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    ... Still wiring...

    2018-06-05 23.49.29.jpg


    Make it up as I go along loom...

    2018-06-06 23.49.13.jpg
     
  12. jpmillermatic

    jpmillermatic Member

    Messages:
    776
    USA-NY
    yes, but you make it up from a place of knowledge!

    you should see what I make up over here..... :(

    JP
     
  13. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    Found a neat solution for the Neutral switch. Unfortunately the thread on the switch is M14 very coarse thread that I could not find a bolt or tap for anywhere - so I cut out the bit of Ali gearbox it went into to hold it onto a bracket. Ground a groove in the shaft. Fine adjustment with shims... OK.. a washer and a flap disc:rolleyes:

    2018-06-09 16.54.05.jpg

    Then to my absolute amazement I switched it on, and so far it ALL works, lights, horn indicators, back lights, engine, fuel gauge. Fingers crossed for the clutch and shaft/bearings when I get that all spun up!

    2018-06-09 22.03.47.jpg

    2018-06-09 22.02.58.jpg

    - Though it does have an odd mix of coloured bulbs for back lighting..

    Then I "carefully" removed the handbrake as it was original - That's next to fix!:welder:

    2018-06-08 18.06.48.jpg


    And in other news.. It's Official ! The DVLA sent me a new V5 with the new engine noted on it :clapping:
     
  14. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    Got to love kit car insurance. 45hp Beetle engine ---> 135hp MX5 engine, premium increase ... £16.60
     
  15. PhillipM

    PhillipM Member

    Messages:
    1,803
    Rotherham
    To be fair it's less likely to leak oil all over the tyres, so....;)
     
  16. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    And it now has an immobiliser, rather than a Beetle engine, which, on reflection is pretty much the same thing.
     
    Richiew, garethp and PhillipM like this.
  17. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    Done. Goes forwards, backwards and stops - but it's raining so no proper test yet. Awaiting split conduit for wiring tidy and need a better throttle cable solution but that's it for now...

    2018-06-17 17.49.52.jpg

    2018-06-17 17.50.27.jpg
     
  18. Wightsparks

    Wightsparks Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    1,113
    Location:
    Wight
    Took it out for a tentative drive and nothing blew up, fell off or disintegrated so that's a plus! Goes like stink too :laughing:

    I worked out the conversion factor for the SGI-5E to convert the Porsche ABS ---> Speedo conversion and it seems to be bang on - need to check with GPS

    Need to re-locate the mirrors, adjust the handbrake and find something else just as interesting to do in the evenings or I will go mad!
     
    • 2018-06-18 15.02.24.jpg
    • 2018-06-18 15.02.12.jpg
  19. Ruffian Member

    Messages:
    1,671
    Location:
    Devon UK
    Turbo??
    Or
    Supercharger??
     
  20. PhillipM

    PhillipM Member

    Messages:
    1,803
    Rotherham
    Don't worry, as soon as you do a few hundred miles there'll be plenty of work to do in the evenings :D
     
Advertisements