Question related to welding cutlery

1. BirdmanJohn Member

Hi, yeah so quick question. I am trying (as a complete novice) to weld cutlery, stainless steel typically.

Basically I am either burning through it by welding too long or I am trying to tack and the tack is not really penetrating at all.

I am using gas and a mid setting (3 of 6) about 50% wire speed,0.9mm copper coated wire.

Any obvious suggestions or failing that, can anyone recommend any 'standard' settings for this kind of work when using a Wolfmig140. Its range I believe is 30-130 amps with power settings simply 1 2 3 4 5 or 6.

I have made a couple of things successfully but its a bit hit or miss. If anyone's interested there's a link here to them.

Thanks

John

Gritineye and hunter27 like this.
  2. eLuSiVeMiTe

eLuSiVeMiTe Forum Supporter

3. Parm

Parm Metal Tinkerer

Looks like your trying to weld SS with a MIG setup for mild steel

I don’t think it will work, particularly on the thin metal of cuttlery

An expert who really knows what they are talking about will be along shortly. There’s a few about

eLuSiVeMiTe likes this.
  4. Woody.v8

Woody.v8 Blue gluer

Turn your power down or travel faster, what you are trying to achieve is easy once you get a feel for it.
    0.9 mm wire with a gas shield dosnt sound right though ? Is it gassless wire?

hunter27 likes this.
  5. BirdmanJohn Member

Thanks. I will try less power. Presumably the tacks will take an extra split second or two if i do that?
    No its gas wire 0.9mm copper coated. Gas is 86 / 14 argon to co2. I have a lot to learn!

6. Woody.v8

Woody.v8 Blue gluer

It is common to tack up at a higher power than what you would weld at, I've never seen 0.9mm solid mig wire it would usually be 0.8 in solid .

7. WorkshopChris Forum Supporter