Problem welding air compressore tank

1. Capt New Member

hello guys
    This days I'm facing a problem welding a gpl bottle
    Want to use it as a compressore tank
    I want to weld a threded tube (plumbing) in the the hole of the bottle
    But after I weld it leak air alot
    I don't know if it possible ! or it require other type of welding machine
    NB : I'm not a professional welder this is my first time using an odl arc welding machine of 2002 I guess

• 20200806_175105.jpg
    • 20200806_175026.jpg
    • 20200806_175040.jpg
    • 20200806_175108.jpg
    Memmeddu likes this.
  2. Capt New Member

I use E6030 rod

Memmeddu likes this.
  3. voipio Member

Cambridge, UK
    The pictures show that parts of the weld have no weld penetration, so will leak, plus the cracks in the metal plate on top are concerning. They shouldn't be there. Also, is the threaded pipe galvanised? If so, all of the zinc should be removed in the weld area. The weld fumes coming from zinc are bad for the lungs!

metalmelt, Memmeddu and brightspark like this.
  4. Capt New Member

Thank you for your replay
    I'll upload the fotos of the pipe
    On the website of the sellers said ita a zinger steel(iron) ....
    So how to take off the zinc?

• Screenshot_20200806-182959_Leroy Merlin.jpg
    • Screenshot_20200806-183036_Leroy Merlin.jpg
    Memmeddu likes this.
  5. mtt.tr

mtt.tr Member

Essex England
    I strongly advice against this, compressed air holds alot of energy this is an accident waiting to happen

Jay1st, addjunkie, metalmelt and 5 others like this.
  6. tom2207 Member

To tackle small radius pipe welds even for a good stick welder is a chore ,,, bung some one local with a mig a tenner , or a packet of buns and they will have it done in five mins ,, everyones happy and safe , then practice welding on something thats not important , till you get the hang of it all.

metalmelt, 500e and brightspark like this.
  7. brightspark

brightspark Member