Preventing voids in tacks/short runs on thin metal

1. hanvyj Member

Finally got my wire feed working! I'm a total beginner.

I'm using flux core 0.8 wire on thin sheet metal, hoping to use the 'stitching' method, but mostly I'm messing around getting used to the settings a little.

A big problem I'm having, especially with tacs, or very short runs, is at the end I get a pronounced void/crater. It can be pretty deep. Seems to consistently happen when I stop the weld.

Any idea why?

Here's some examples:

[​IMG]

(Please excuse the big embarrassing hole!)

Welder was set to the minimum settings.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2020
  2. Jay1st

Jay1st AdeptusMechanicus wanna be.

Hi, you should start the learning process on some thicker plate, going with thin sheet is a bad idea to begin with.

4mm is the minimum, you'll still pierce it if it's too hot, but you'll get the hang of the welder , torch handling, movements and travel speed.
    Clean the surface with a flap wheel, make sur the Negative is on the torch for gasless flux core.

stuvy and Munkul like this.
  3. Munkul

Munkul Jack of some trades, Master of none

Those craters are a mixture of contamination/soot from entrapped slag, and running too cold altogether. It's basically freezing the weld puddle before it has time to form.

Flux core doesn't like running too cold. It has a sweet spot, and only IF the wire quality is any good.

You want a nice smooth hiss/hum with fluxcore, at which point you'll only be able to weld 3mm+ thickness without burning through.

Don't mistake it with "proper MIG" with gas, where you want a bacon frying sound - it's a different animal, and the main reason why people write it off as a spattery mess.

Flux core in sheet metal will always end in tears, unfortunately. It's simply not a process that works with thin sheet metal, since it needs plenty amps and a steady seam weld to work properly.

Dcal, 123hotchef and Jay1st like this.
  4. hanvyj Member