Newbie choosing voltage and wire speed

1. Albioninoz New Member

Hi guys,
    I'm new at this and am in the process of restoring a 1957 Rover car. I have a Lotos MIG 140 welder that I've had but hardly used for about 5 years. My problem is that I cannot work out how to set the dials correctly for the 1mm sheet that forms the cars bodywork - I seem forever to be blowing holes in it. The welder has 2 dials, MIG Voltage amd MMA Current and I cannot find any manual to help. Also I'm using gasless wire (if that makes any difference). The photo shows these dials. I'd be really grateful if anyone cam tell me what settings I should used for 1mm thick mild steel. Thanks, Ray

• wwelder1.jpg
  2. 123hotchef Member

mma current will be for when you use the stick welding mode.

try the mig voltage at 14 the lowest setting and see what happens

gassless wire aint the best for 1mm car body work

Albioninoz likes this.
  3. gaz1

gaz1 Forum Supporter

4. eddie49 Member

The front panel of your welder is marked up in a rather strange way. The flip switch for Arc ( upper setting ) or MIG ( lower setting ) has the "1" and "0" marking, as if it was a power on/off switch. The plastic nut that apparently fixes the MIG torch ( not a Eurotorch ) to the front panel has the typical marking that is used for a wirefeed speed control, but there does not seem to be an actual wire speed control? Perhaps when set to MIG mode, the "MMA Current" knob is switched to have that function?

As for blowing holes, that is often a problem when fixing thin rusty sheet metal on car bodywork. At least a 1957 Rover bodyshell started off at a decent thickness!
    I would suggest laying some 2" to 3" long straight beads on new shiny 1mm sheet, and posting photos on here for comments and advice.

slim_boy_fat likes this.
  5. Albioninoz New Member

Thanks for this. I got this manual with the welder but reading it has made me none the wiser. I'll see if I can check with the local supplier.