MIG welder problem - help sought

1. Benpointer

Benpointer Member

Hi there, hoping someone can advise on this issue I am having.

I have a Migatronic 180MX which I bought secondhand a few years ago and I use about 2 or 3 times a year. never had any problems with it, very easy to use. I am a very occasional amateur as you can guess.

Today I was welding up a fair bit of 30mm x 3mm mild steel box. It was fine for most of the day but late on this afternoon I had to stop as the welder was not maintaining any sort of arc. It was almost as if it has gone into a very low powered stitch mode (I checked, it was definitely still set to continuous seam weld).

I counldnpt see anything obvious - the shroud, nozzle and wire (0.8mm) all look fine, gas is ok, the welder doesn't feel hot or anything. I was welding happily on a power setting of 5, wire speed 7, gas rate 10 all day. I am using argoshield lite.

Bit of a mystery. Will have another go tomorrow but if anyone has any ideas, that would be great.

Thanks

2. Rig Pig

Rig Pig Member

Check the capacitor bank, mine failed a few years ago, I put a thread up on here about replacing them.

3. Rig Pig

Rig Pig Member

4. Tom O Member

When my bank went on the Miller it let out a lot of smoke!

5. eddie49 Member

There may be a loose, corroded, or burnt connection in the high-current welding path, causing a high resistance, and this has heated up during extended use and become worse.

6. Fazerruss

Fazerruss Member

West Yorkshire
    I have the same machine. As said check the capacitors as one may have died. Mine went pop after 24 years so couldn't complain!
    Make sure you the replacements are fit for purpose, they need to have a high ripple current for welders. I got mine from TecArc for about £60. Other possible cause could be a diode failure in the rectifier.
    They are a well built little machine and easy to repair.

7. Benpointer

Benpointer Member