Micor Performance on 115v Supply

  1. matt1978

    matt1978 http://www.uk.masters-of-speed.de/

    I seen some discussions on another Thread a couple of weeks ago regarding the performance of our new MicorTig whilst on a 115v supply.

    We had some spare time today so I put together a video, showing the performance of this machine whilst connected to a 115v 16 amp supply via a 5 KvA Transformer. As you can see on the video, it is still able to weld at 140 amps burning a 4.0mm Low Hydrogen electrode. This is impressive enough, but it’s unbelievable when you consider it did this whilst connected to 145ft/44 meters of extension cable!

    I’ve not seen anything else on the market that offers this level of MMA performance on 115v 16 amp supply.

    We only had 3 x 14m extension cables to hand but I will definitely push the machine to its limit and see just how many more meters of 115v extension cable it can cope with and still give a “useable” welding value at the other end

    What the videos with Captions enabled


    Mod edit: Video updated
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2019
  2. matt1978

    matt1978 http://www.uk.masters-of-speed.de/

    You can also see the same machine deliberately pushed off the table whilst welding at full capacity (from the 115v supply with the long extensions)



    Mod edit: Video updated
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2019
  3. Richard.

    Richard. Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    18,349
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    We actually dropped it off there twice :thumbup:

    First time wasn’t intentional mind :scared:
     
    steviec_lj, Ruffian and Welderpaul like this.
  4. Welderpaul

    Welderpaul Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,215
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    I thought MicorTig were 230V only?

    Send it here for a proper test! :thumbup:
     
  5. Richard.

    Richard. Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    18,349
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    On the slate Paul? :thumbup:
     
    Welderpaul likes this.
  6. Welderpaul

    Welderpaul Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,215
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    :laughing:Yep, send it over, we'll let you have it back once we have done a real world site test!
     
    steviec_lj and Richard. like this.
  7. Richard.

    Richard. Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    18,349
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    In all seriousness Paul I’m up in the north east on Wednesday
    If you or the lads fancy a blast with one I’d happily pop in on my way home. strictly No drop tests mind :D it’s my Demo set so it’s got to look nice.
     
  8. matt1978

    matt1978 http://www.uk.masters-of-speed.de/

    115-230 mains, generator and don’t forget the Battery ;)

    I’m sure we can organise something as soon as the rest of my demonstration stock arrives :hug:
     
  9. dobbslc

    dobbslc Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    5,289
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Bring it round mine to sort the crappy welding I've had done on my house steels see thread "Structural welds in my house opinions please."
    I'm on an overhead TT supply on a very long run from the transformer that'll test it out.....
     
  10. zzr1200

    zzr1200 Working at 650 ft on open steel work

    Messages:
    3,840
    Location:
    Glapwell, Chesterfield, Derbyshire.
    Mmm....how many beer tokens do we have to offer???
     
  11. Welderpaul

    Welderpaul Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,215
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Thanks chaps, no panic but happy to try one out. We quite regularly need to MMA weld on site at circa 120A from 110V with a number of 32A leads where a genset welder isn't appropriate.
    Don't forget to add a 500A Saprom S5 to your demo stock so we can buy it at Yorkshire rates:cool:
     
    eLuSiVeMiTe and Richard. like this.
  12. matt1978

    matt1978 http://www.uk.masters-of-speed.de/

    Sorry I guys. I was a little trigger happy yesterday, the videos I shared are a bit rough round the edges.

    Here you can see a more polished version, but also incorporating the drop test and also the performance on Tig, all in one video


    Mod edit: Video updated
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2019
  13. Kent

    Kent Member

    Messages:
    10,002
    Location:
    Bowland, Lanacshire,UK
    Very impressed. Must say my old model 240v will lay a perfect bead when other sets haven't even managed to stay swiched on being connected to the same supply
     
    matt1978 and Richard. like this.
  14. Richard.

    Richard. Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    18,349
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Mod edit: Video updated
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2019
    matt1978 likes this.
  15. steviec_lj

    steviec_lj Rust Welding Professional

    Messages:
    2,654
    Location:
    Barnetby, N.Lincs
    Wow, not much else to say.

    Apart from asking the cost? :whistle:
     
  16. bwservices Member

    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Ireland
    is this released or just in the pipeline?
    I had a customer onto me and this might solve his particular needs
     
    matt1978 likes this.
  17. matt1978

    matt1978 http://www.uk.masters-of-speed.de/

    Available now....
     
  18. bwservices Member

    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Ireland
    thanks Matt

    can you recommend a London area supplier?
     
  19. matt1978

    matt1978 http://www.uk.masters-of-speed.de/

    Wasp Supplies and Elmdale have stock down that way
     
    bwservices likes this.
  20. Pete.

    Pete. Member

    Messages:
    9,340
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    It's an amazing machine and impressive given that it's on such a long lead and I don't mean to disparage the equipment in any way but I do have a burning question that I can't help but ask:

    Those transformers rarely have a separate trip for the 16amp socket they are usually just parallel wired to the big outlet and share the 32a trip. I have run my 3kw drill motor from one many times. What I mean is will it perform the same from a 16amp socket on a site transformer - i.e. on a supply that's actually limited to 16a?
     
Advertisements