Equipment for a total beginner.

1. DangerMouse

DangerMouse New Member

Hi everyone, thank you for taking me on board.

I wish to buy a welder for my wife, she is very keen but is a total beginner. She wants to make up plant supports and other items for the garden and also wants to progress on to art later on. Could someone please offer me advice on what machine would be best for her to start with, I have been looking at anything up to £250, maybe a bit more or even less if that is deemed sensible here. The machine should be easy to learn and use and must run on mains electricity. Essentially she will be a hobbyist although we have a friend who has an independent garden centre who has offered space for her work.

Your advice and guidance would be most valuable. Thank you very much.

Have a pleasant weekend.

metalmelt, Retired, duncans and 2 others like this.
  2. duncans

duncans Member

Welcome to the forum Danger mouse

James1979 likes this.
  3. duncans

duncans Member

hi mate id be looking around for a good second-hand MIG welder there's been a few welders for sale on here if you keep your eyes peeled id also be looking on Facebook as well I've seen quite a few i would have been interested in if I was looking for one im sure they will be lots of people on the forum giving you advice

BarrieJ and Memmeddu like this.
  4. barking mat

barking mat Barking at Pigeons

If starting, I'd get an inverter arc welder for example.

No need for gas accounts, you're in Normandy.

If it's supports for planters, it's not bodywork thin.

I'd go in that direction.

Welding and gas in France starts getting expensive...

And welcome to the forum.

metalmelt, mdr, tom2207 and 7 others like this.
  5. Memmeddu

Memmeddu Member

Arc welder of some kind.
    Good 6013 rods.
    A pair of welding gloves.
    A pair of leather gloves.
    Maybe a leather apron.
    Surely safety glasses.
    A good welding helmet .
    A chipping hammer.
    A wire brush.
    A rough file.