drive way gates

1. duncans

duncans Member

daughter inlaws wants these gates for her driveway the span is id say 4mtr or thereabouts and she is one of those who knows it all im only a novice at this welding game and I said use 40mm box section then it would be nice and strong but hoo no 40x40x3mm angle iron will do the job
    as she is wanting 3 gates not 2 gates all on hinges so they fold back and just use one if wants to access
    so I thought id ask people in here as they have done driveway gates etc themselves I will no the problems that will accrue

2. Bullet2012

Bullet2012 Forum Supporter

Check @KimB thread on bifold driveway gates, that will give you some ideas

stuvy likes this.
  3. 8ob

8ob Forum Supporter

Noo0oooooooooo :scared:

Gates :vsad:

Bob

4. duncans

duncans Member

yeah mate I looked what Kim did and she made a fantastic job of those gates that's why I told daughter inlaw to use box section as it would be far better than using angle iron because over a long span the angle iron would be flimsy well that was my thought

5. Brad93

Brad93 M J B Engineering

Bifolding gates need to be pretty strong especially if you’ve got three hinged sections. There’s a lot of possibility from them to drop over time.

6. wyn

wyn Member

I made something with 40x40x3 angle the other week, it is a bit on the "flimsy" side.

7. Parm

Parm Oh how I’ve missed my play pen this year

If she is being an “expert” I would let her build them

Then she only has herself to blame if they go wrong

8. Ged93 Member

Hi , I can give my experience as we got a family father-son company of steel constructions , both civil and heavy industrial .

You say the gate is about 4 mtr long , bad idea to use a 3 hinged gates solution , you would need very heavy duty hinges and structure to keep it in position , and a very strong pillar .