Complete newbie :)

1. zerofoxjim New Member

Hi guys and gals, Been a long time lurker on the site!

Over the years, I have had many rust heaps that I wish I could have fixed...But never had the bottle to try and fix anything...So here I am!

I have a brand new welder, and im determined to learn the art....including making decent repair patches and doing a nice job.

Here is my problem: I know there is surface rust between the seams. Do I have to bust open all the seams to brush the rust out? or can I get away with using epoxy mastic to seal the lot up (after cleaning and patching the visible areas)

Thank you all!

• 20171119_162429[1].jpg
  2. Mark E Making it harder than it needs to be.

Your final two words are the key - “visible areas”

I’m no expert on this but think that if you have surface rust on the seams, there’s no way you can realistically expose it enough and stop it without opening the seam up, cutting back to bare metal and welding back from there.

It does depend on what this is on as well. If it’s a £500 eBay banger, some rust preventative topcoat will see you right for a year or two. If it’s a rare or valuable vehicle, you want to be exposing that rust and stopping it.

Seam sealer and epoxy will mask the problem, not resolve it.

Any pics of the vehicle? Well done for finally taking the plunge!

3. frank horton

frank horton V twins are great but 4"s rule.........

Learn on an old knacker.....then find ur self a non rusty car from Southern Europe....fill it full of wax-oil and with a bit of luck u"ll make /save some money.....
    Car's from the UK will always keep ur welder busy.....
    As Mark says sealer only covers the trouble up, once the rust is there u can only slow it down......I think better to see it than have a lump of bodywork fall of....
    Frank

Mark E likes this.
  4. Wallace

Wallace Member