Advice for welding a suspension component? Beginner.

1. JACK D EYRES Member

Hello everyone,
    I've recently started welding an old ford for the first time. I was given the car for free and wanted to learn how to weld so I thought this lockdown was as good a time as ever! :laughing:

Anyways, I've welded the sills easy enough as a beginner, but i was wondering if there was any advice on how to fix something like this? I completely missed it when expecting the vehicle for the first time!

Should I cut all of the metal off and create a new part in the same shape? I'm still a beginner as I said so any advice would be appreciated.
    IMG_20200531_204025.jpg

2. voipio Member

Cambridge, UK
    Don't really want to pour cold water onto enthusiasm, but suspension component welding and beginner don't go well together. It's too risky.

Bbe555, slim_boy_fat, cianh91 and 6 others like this.
  3. Ali

Ali Member

Can’t tell from the photo, is it actually rotten? It looks like very heavy rust but if it’s solid it might be best left alone apart from a clean up. I’ve had worse pass an MOT.

4. JACK D EYRES Member

Annoyingly, this is part of why it failed it's MOT.

5. JACK D EYRES Member

Fair enough! I don't want to give up since the engine is only on 30k miles though. I might as well give it a shot anyways and it I fail, I'll just scrap the car. The only thing I lose out on is my time and effort!

6. brightspark

brightspark Member

knock a few pieces of metal up similar shape and thickness and weld them up .if it goes ok get on with it if it doesn't have another go .practice makes perfect just don't practice on the motor 1st :)

Barlidge, Nick DV, mtt.tr and 3 others like this.
  7. a111r Member

Hi Jack, glad the Clarke 90 has already been put to good use.
    Doing sills satisfactorily, at 2 weeks in, is good progress.

Now you've found out that you need more tools, like a die grinder.

8. Anguz

Anguz Forum Supporter

bedfordshire
    what is the car?