Wire feed.

1. Ashley Bristol New Member

Hello all. I'm very new to this. Last year I done a little welding course. And iv finally got around to buying a entry level welder.
    Wolf 140 mig weld gas no gas welder.
    All was going well until I changed rolls.
    I got the wire in. Fed the wire through tightened everything up. Not to tight. But the wire just doesn't feed. You can here the motor going. But the wheel just doesn't move. If I loosen it off it works but obviously it's to loose to feed the wire.
    Can anybody tell me what I'm doing wrong.

2. Robotstar5

Robotstar5 Casanunda Staff Member

Does the wire move freely with the tension OFF the feed rollers?, a good test is a 1kg (bag of sugar) weight should be able to pull the wire through from the torch tip.

...and welcome to the forum.

3. Jim Davey

Jim Davey RH Davey Welding Supplies

Sounds like maybe you missed the liner on the way out with the wire or a burr on the wire has gouged up the inside of the liner and blocked it. Try removing the wire, straightening the end and rounding off any sharp edges on it with a file or sandpaper, then try carefully feeding the wire through again with the torch held out straight.

Mee likes this.
  4. gordon stephenson

gordon stephenson Forum Supporter

You say that the wheel (roller) doesn't move, Does the roller turn round on the shaft for different for different size wires? Maybe the screw holding the roller to the shaft is not tight enough.

5. Ashley Bristol New Member

Yes iv adjusted that. Tightened right up and loosened on Thurs at a time. Still won't feed.

6. xmetal

xmetal Member

You say this problem occurred after you changed the reel. This may be a silly question but have you got the same wire size as the original?

7. Jim Davey

I think its a blocked or missed liner personally. Easy to damage a plastic liner if that's what it is? Do Wolf 140s have a direct fit torch?

8. Jim Davey