Why is my soldering so bad?!

1. Gwil Member

I'm not a bad stick welder. Self taught, pretty neat, and nothing I've made, including most of the equipment/machinery of a 24 ton ocean going boat, has ever broken (at the weld that is.....but let's not go there). Yes, I know, it's 'cos everything I make is heavier than Belgium....

But I can't solder worth a damn. Electrical that is. I can manage a solder joint in a copper pipe!

I've looked at videos, used different irons, guns, solder, but where are those nice shiny blobs other people manage to effortlessly produce? What's the secret? I am the dry joint champion of the world.

2. The_Yellow_Ardvark

The_Yellow_Ardvark perkele

Joints not clean.
    Temp to low.
    Wrong solder.
    Wrong flux.
    Tip to small.
    Dirt wire.
    Dirty components.

A few points to consider.

3. brightspark

brightspark Member

a smallish soldering iron with a clean tip and multicore rosin solder. dab a bit on the iron 1st to silver it with a blob then dab it on the joint

zx9, Parm and Gwil like this.
  4. Spark plug

Spark plug Member

sako243, pint, Hopefuldave and 5 others like this.
  5. KemppiFrog Member

Gosh, I feel for you..
    Long ago, I was told.. clean everything carefully, clean the iron and tin it, then clean the work again. Get everything in position, clean again, then solder.
    In actual practice, I do clean carefully and use seperate flux from a pot, then solder with the cored wire. If concerned, I tin the bits before trying to join them. Short and sharp with the iron is good.
    KF

Also, have a couple of little irons for the delicate stuff.

slim_boy_fat and Gwil like this.
  6. carbon

carbon Member

I think flux makes a difference, obviously need the correct size iron for the job

8ob, Gwil and mtt.tr like this.
  7. mtt.tr

mtt.tr Member

Essex England
    On steel and dirty copper i use laco that stuff is brilliant.

8. carbon

carbon Member