Tractor Questions and advice

1. Robbie260 Member

Right so since we have such a broad knowledge spectrum on this fourm with a vast array of experiance.

A mate of mine works on a farm and the owner wants to get new tractors to replace his old ones. He has asksd me as apparently because im a mechanical engineer i know the answer to every thing (i really dont have much of a clue about tractors to be honest). The farmer wants to be able to move tanco silage bales with it ie two on the loader on the front and two on the 3 point hitch at the back. I assume this means he wants a heavy tractor to cope with the weight while the tractor dosent have an even load on it ie 2 on the back before he picks up the two on the front and one with a high hydraulic flow rate to supply the hitch and loader with enough fluid to manage to lift this combination.

Any suggestions on what tractor he should be looking at hes concidering anything from deere to valtra to landini/mccormick so i dont think budget is much of an issue.

2. hotponyshoes Member

If he's thinking of something newer (up to 10yrs old or so) get whatever the local dealer sells.

Some (most, maybe all) of the newer ones have the same complicated computer systems as cars and are running adblue and what not.

Any errors and it will need to be plugged into an expensive diagnostic system that the local garage wont have.
    Some even need the computer to add extra work lights, linkages, accessories and so on.
    So I would value the local support in something like that.

Robbie260 likes this.
  3. Is he looking at new or used? Is it just for stock/ animal work or do they do any crop work?
    I am a mechanic, with a case Ih, dealer , in Elgin.

Robbie260 and 8ob like this.
  4. anto44

anto44 Member

As said above, which ever brand has the best local support. Around my way most tractors are new Holland because that's what the local dealer sells.

Robbie260 and 8ob like this.
  5. Robbie260 Member