TIG welds dull and grey in colour?

1. Moose McAlpine

Moose McAlpine New Member

Hi guys. I'm a bit out of practice in my TIG welding, i first started 7 or 8 years ago, and was "capable" despite being self-taught by reading and watching videos. Eventually, after dipping every tungsten i got my hands on, i could somewhat reliably take good metal, stick it together and turn it into useless scrap. My welds ended up kinda decent, but obviously not anything special.

Then life got in the way and fast forward a few years till recently, my R Tech machine popped its transformer and i made a terrible financial decision and bought an ex-demo EWM Tetrix 230, CK TL26 torch, Gas Saver kit and more earth clamps than you can shake a stick at.

Now every time i weld the bead comes out dull and grey. New clean metal, clean sharp tungsten (2% lanth), BOC PureShield Argon and all welds look like this:

20190714_014209.jpg 20190714_014154.jpg

I know the beads are lousy, i'm very out of practice and having pain in my hands lately which doesn't help.

Any ideas what i'm doing wrong? Years ago when i first started the welds remained shiny, i think even the stainless recently has cone out dull. (Will get a sample piece tomorrow) Too little gas coverage maybe?

Any help is much appreciated, thank you.

(Sorry for the long rambling post.)

2. Wonderweaver New Member

Hi Moose what is ya torch set up and gas flow???

3. Moose McAlpine

Hi, Wonderweaver, for those welds it was a CK TL26, Gas Saver with a #6 cup, i think my regulator was set to 20L/min and the flowmeter (vertical ball/tube type) was about 10L/min.

Thank you.

4. Wonderweaver New Member

Seems bout right but looking at those welds they look like you hav nt cleaned the mill scale off. You dont want that in your weld. Are you putting to much heat in or not dippin quick enough maybe taking the rod out of the gas zone ???

5. Moose McAlpine