Threaded rod to flat bar

1. ChrisBailey

ChrisBailey New Member

Hi, this is my first post and Im a total beginner. My welding experience to date is a plug weld to hold a plate to box section and tacking a tab onto sheet metal to hold an accelerator cable. This was on an old Clarke 90 mig, about 10 years ago.

As I have a project car under restoration, I got myself a new welder (clarke wasnt mine). Its a TecArc c181. Ive got a 10ltre adams gas 5% co2 argon mix, argon regulator, a cheap ADF helmet and some new gloves. 15Kgs of wire too.
    All baught after lots of reading on here and the hope it will be the only welder I ever need.

So, first project is to fix a performance pedal box to the car. Now the car is based on a classic beetle, its had welding done before me where they reinforced the floorpan by welding box section all around and across the underneath.
    To get enough room in the car for comfortable seating, Ive had to cut into the napoleon hat (see classic beetle) to move the pedalbox as far forwards as possible. Now in this location, I cannot put bolts or set screws through the floor pan as the holes line up with the reinforcement bars.
    My brainwave was to weld threaded rod (m10) to the floor pan, then put nuts on to fix the pedalbox down.
    As the floorpan is made of sheet steel, I thought it was a good idea to put some flat bar down to hold the threaded rod (gives a bit more to weld to).
    I think the easiest way to weld this would be to drill a hole into the flat bar, clamp the threaded rod perpendicular and then plug weld.
    Do you think this would work?
    Any problems?

I may also need to put in some reinforcement to the napoleon hat that I cut earlier.
    Im thinking some box section to create a square frame. Pedal box will just sit upto this frame.
    Any better ideas?

Ill try and put some pictures up tomorrow.
    Its hard to describe.

Anyway, this will be my first welding project. Ill also put some pictures of the welding up.