Sprayed 2k acrylic primer came out textured

1. Asdama New Member

As the title says i sprayed 2k acrylic primer today and it come out textured really bumpy and rough. Any idea why it came out like that? Ive wet sanded it down with guide coat and looks better but not perfect. Here are some pic of how it looks now. Will this be ok to paint over? Theres some spots where ive sanded primer down to the old paint too can i still paint basecoat on it? Im new to painting having only painted 1 wing before which come out good? IMG_20181011_175119.jpg IMG_20181011_175128.jpg IMG_20181011_175106.jpg IMG_20181011_175119.jpg IMG_20181011_175128.jpg IMG_20181011_175106.jpg

2. Roberto Member

Needle too big? Too much pressure?

3. Asdama New Member

Had it set it 4bar, 1.8 needle tip?

4. Asdama New Member

What the difference between 2k acrylic primer and 2k high build primer?

5. Roberto Member

Someone with much better knowledge than me will answer you better. I think acrylic primer is a much thinner product for spraying on ready smooth and flatted surfaces. Whereas a high build is thicker and covers imperfections better.
    Sorry I'm no expert but many on here are.

Hopefuldave likes this.
  6. tlovatt Member

Rugby, UK
    A high build primer is intended to be flattened down after being applied, the idea is to provide a relatively thick coat that can then be sanded down and will smooth out small imperfections. Other primers are used as the name would suggest to prime a surface for later coats of paint.

slim_boy_fat likes this.
  7. Daz2012 Member

Staffs,UK
    Did you mix it as per the data sheet with the correct amount of thinners ?

8. 1K primer is a bit thin for a 1.8 nozzle. I would be trying a 1.3 ish and 2 bar for a conventional gun, lower for LVLP. 4 bar is way too high for anything! You are probably rippling the paint with air.

jsf55 likes this.
  9. steveo3002 Member

cambridge uk