So Many Choices: MIG novice

1. lostcookie New Member

Total novice here looking to find a MIG welder to learn with. I've been looking on Ebay and ended up with more questions than answers. Most of what I'll be doing is aluminium (3mm/5mm and 3/8 angle plus flat) but might try steel at a later date.

What is a good starter MIG? I have 16A single phase and 16/32A three phase supplies available.

2. skotl

skotl Forum Supporter

Welcome to the forum :waving:

Good to hear that you've got options on the electrical side - that opens it up a bit.

If you're going to be welding aluminium then you would need a spool gun for MIG. Have you considered TIG instead?
    I'm pretty inexperienced on TIG so will let others recommend but that is probably the best way to go for aly (and can do steel, too).

Do you have a budget in mind? And would you have a preference for new vs used?

slim_boy_fat and metalmelt like this.
  3. metalmelt Member

You could certainly MIG ally of this thickness and as Skotl has already pointed out it needs a spool gun really, you may get away with a teflon liner and short umbilical but you are still pushing wire down the liner and round bends which may cause a lot of bird nesting in a MIG without a spool gun.

In reality it comes down to price, for steel and ally you would need a decent ac/dc TIG and they are expensive, for much less you can buy a reasonable MIG with the plugs for a spool gun, and the spool gun.

You pays your money and makes your choice.

slim_boy_fat and James1979 like this.
  4. lostcookie New Member

Thanks guys.

Had a look at spool guns and promptly noticed that most look a little unwieldy as well as some being suspiciously cheap. For the time being I'd prefer to go for a standard MIG torch and filler rod despite being truly crap at gas welding steel with this when I was at college! I wasn't any good at stick welding either, never got as far as using the MIG's they had.