Reviving a BOC DC 130 Transarc

1. BR_T New Member

I've picked up one of these and trying to get it to work. No output at the terminals, nothing when I try to arc. Leads seem fine, have checked the thyristors with a multimeter and seem to be working fine, transformer hums away, fan constantly on and I have a 13a fuse in the plug. Other than the board I'm not sure what could be the problem, I have checked the board components best I can with a multimeter but everything I test checks out - I'm not an electrician so might have to just take the whole thing to a shop. Having another look this weekend. Any thoughts before I do?

In addition - when I got it there was a brass fuse in the plug and the capacitors on the thyristors had blown. I've replaced the capacitors with modern equivalents and a new 13a fuse.

2. eddie49 Member

3. minimutly Member

Transarc tradesman?
    Used to have one of them in work for stick and dc tig use - 30 years ago - it took some abuse.

4. BR_T New Member

Thanks Eddie, there is AC output from the transformer but checked the thyristors with a multimeter (took them out first) and they seemed to work. I checked the gates using an external power source, but I will check again tomorrow - still learning.
    Could it be that the diode/gate is working but there is no signal to the gate from the pcb?
    Thanks for the input.

5. BR_T New Member

Yeah that's it. Looks solid and fairly simple inside apart from the pcb. I picked it up to learn to weld but so far not been able to make it work.

6. minimutly Member

Old elecrtronics - mostly obsolete. Do you have a circuit diagram?
    Bare in mind if you are spending money on it, an equivalent modern machine would cost sub £200?

7. BR_T New Member