Quick question about render...

1. julianf

julianf Member

I need to render an external wall.

It's currently bare thermolite blocks (light aerated block)

I'm thinking -

Pva it.
    5mm or so 4:1 sharp sand / cement mix
    Render mesh
    Another 5mm of the same mix over the top.

All applied together (ie wet on wet)

Is that the right sort of idea?

I can plaster gypsum fine (I'm not a pro, but I've done more than one friends place also) and I'm fine with lime, but I've just never done cement render.

Thank you.

2. 8ob

8ob Forum Supporter

Dont know the correct answer but the last house I built was thermolite inside and out, plasterer used silver sand/cement on that.

Bob

3. tommy dunlop Member

uk south east
    hi what size is the wall

4. julianf

julianf Member

Small. Single story, not more than, maybe, 3mrts long? I mean this is off the top of my head, but it's not much of a job.

Why do you ask?

5. angellonewolf

angellonewolf Member

not pva what you need is sbr to seal it

Westfield-builder and Parm like this.
  6. julianf

julianf Member

By chance I got a dumpy bag of sand from a different supplier. They charged me a fortune for it (£56 plus vat or somthing) but it seems to handle very nicely, so maybe it's something special. Was hoping to just use that. It's yellow, well graded, and seems quite clean.

7. Parm

Parm I have fun doing stuff

I’ve always seen it done in two coats. First up a scratch coat then finish coat.

It’s more forgiving than gypsum. Once you’ve got it floated flat you can use some of the drier stuff that falls off to fill in dips etc.

I’v had a go few years ago and it came out ok, I’d never earn a living from it though

8. dholdi New Member

As wolf said above, absolutely not pva, sbr is a bit more expensive but what you should be using before anything else.

9. tommy dunlop Member

uk south east
    dont face it up to wet then finish with nice soft sponge

10. tommy dunlop Member

uk south east