Practicing for welding round tube with 1.5mm wall.

1. Dougal Thompson New Member

I'm new to Mig having used stick on and off over the years but for thicker materials. I now have a second hand Kemppi Minarc 180 with which I've spent some time on 3mm getting accustomed to Mig.
    I've now turned my attention to 1.5mm flat plate hoping that practice on this will pave the way to round tube which I'm expecting to be somewhat tricky. The Minarc's automatic thickness settings seemed spot on for beads and lap joints, but I've had to reduce wire speed and volts a fair bit for a butt joint. Here's a pic of the current effort. Direction was right to left with a straight push, torch a little off vertical in both directions and a short stick out, .8mm wire, 2.7m/min, 16.7v.
    IMAG0477.jpg
    I'm a bit lumpy at the start, ok I think in the middle, then lose my way a bit after welding over the tack which was perhaps a little large.
    IMAG0478.jpg
    Here's the reverse for penetration which seems ok, with the same provisos as above. (I'm not worrying about distortion on these practice pieces, more about getting the correct size and penetration bead).
    Should the bead be a bit flatter? If so what changes are likely to achieve that? I'll keep practising at getting a more even run, are there other excercises that would help towards welding tube?
    Thanks for any comments and criticism.
    Dougal.

2. Dougal Thompson New Member

Oops! That's actually 1.00mm sheet. And the settings arrived at are spot on the auto ones. Now there's a surprise. So need to get some 1.5 and start over.....

3. Country Joe Argoshield Dark

Hey, Mr T - a belated welcome to the forum!

You’re onto a winner with the welder, those Kemppi MinArcMigs are very nice to use!
    You never seem to have to stray very far from the auto settings, if at all.
    And it’s good to see some properly cleaned up steel, too!