Porto Mig 200

  1. Kassan1973 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi all new to this forum looking for some info on a Portomig 200, I have one which is working however seems low on power for a 200amper , someone has put in a 8 position rotary switch at some stage and i wanted to confirm wires are in correct spot , does anyone have a pic of original rotary switch with wirs attached, I have tested all primary windings and are all ok .it looks like they are linked in series at the switch my concern is the number 6 power setting may not be activating all 6 windings if they have been placed incorrectly on switch.
    any info would be great cheers
     
  2. gaz1

    gaz1 Member

    Messages:
    11,360
    Location:
    westyorkshire
    do you have a few photos of your machine ?

    it helps to show pics to show the machine and what type it is

    also take photos inside of it
     
  3. Kassan1973 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    This is inside i have traced the 6 primary windings and all are around 600-500 ohms resistance , the original set up has each winding looped at each point on the switch so all are in series . I would assume the active 240 volt supply from the brown single wire is tapped into each winding for each power setting so i have that all sorted. put simply does the switch just energise more windings for more power and hence on the highest power setting it should be energizing all 6 coils in series?
    Maybe the welder is just not what i expected from a so called 200Amp.
    IMG_20190228_165152.jpg IMG_20190228_112834.jpg IMG_20190228_165152.jpg IMG_20190228_112834.jpg
     
Advertisements