Polishing metal

1. Fred Trevvett Member

Hi, newbie here and not sure really if I'm in the right place but hopefully someone can help

I'm making an engine table and the block needs shot blasting all over. We will then spray it gloss black. However I want the gasket surfaces to be smooth bare metal - not exactly polished (to a mirror effect) but just how they would be from the factory. How do you suggest I get a clean, smooth finish on the gasket surfaces, without interrupting the paintwork? Should I:

Blast > polish > mask polished areas > spray
    Blast > spray > protect paint somehow > polish
    Or maybe a completely different method I haven't thought of?

Thanks in advance guys

Fred

2. hotponyshoes Member

Blast with the head(s) still fitted although a chemical clean and a pressure wash would probably be enough if it's an alloy block
    Polish face (scotchbrite drum wheel for a factory finish)
    Spray glue a head gasket down onto it or bolt the head back on.
    Paint.
    Pull off gasket and wipe adhesive residue off with thinners/alcohol/acetone.

SteScouse and slim_boy_fat like this.
  3. Wallace

Wallace Member

What engine is it? If the block is cast iron then I would consider degreasing, paint stripper and then a dip in citric acid rather than shot blasting. The gasket faces will look good and shine up if needs be with Scotchbrite or wire wool then you can mask them off and paint the block. Chrysler 383 I did.......

D9EDA463-E4C1-4076-A084-B07B056CC3FA.jpeg

slim_boy_fat likes this.
  4. Fred Trevvett Member

5. Fred Trevvett Member

6. Wallace

Wallace Member

I’m unable to view the image due to folder permissions.

The Chrysler engine started out like this.......

0E4FB09F-2157-46CC-8AEA-006B56896432.jpeg

7. Fred Trevvett Member

Sorry permissions updated now. Would shot blasting be more expensive or cheaper than acid dip?

8. ronan

ronan Forum Supporter

dublin