Pickhill Bantam 180a Refurb

  1. MattF

    MattF Member

    Messages:
    9,910
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England
    Very similar looking colour. :D
     
  2. Turbo Member

    Messages:
    3,195
    Location:
    Fermanagh, Northern Ireland
    Thought I should update this.

    P1040033.JPG

    It was painted in 'Record' blue. The colour choice definitely wasn't just to annoy MattF, it just happened to be the only shade of blue I had enough of! :whistle:

    P1040097.JPG P1040098.JPG P1040099.JPG P1040100.JPG P1040102.JPG

    I used my ebay hydraulic crimper to fit new ends on the longer leads I made up.

    P1040103.JPG

    Thanks to the board members for giving me the heads up on this, a very useful tool indeed!

    P1040106.JPG

    Despite my best efforts it produces lovely welds!

    Unfortunately the welder has to go so I put it on Gumtree last night. :(

    A guy texted me looking for advice on his welder as it was 'tripping'. I offered to look at it but he was too far away so over several texts I offered advice to change the oil & where to source it. Did I get any thank you text? Of course not! :mad:
     
  3. Dieselkid 63

    Dieselkid 63 Banned from forklifts

    Messages:
    4,133
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Perhaps he was related to the guy who asked me for help deconstructing the (identical only in name) Bantam gearbox. It took me about two months to work it out of evenings tinkering. Never heard from him again
     
    Turbo and slim_boy_fat like this.
  4. zeppelin builder

    zeppelin builder Member

    Messages:
    1,165
    Location:
    peoples republic of scotland

    Especialy them JOCKROACHES!
     
  5. Turbo Member

    Messages:
    3,195
    Location:
    Fermanagh, Northern Ireland
    Drill is now sold to a very nice chap who drove 50 miles to get here. Buying it for his son to make some box section gates. They had bad experiences with 2 crap mig welders, I was able so show him this one working.

    Made a nice £140 profit as well. :D Badly needed as well as my car needs taxed this month! :rolleyes:
     
    julianthegypsy likes this.
  6. MattF

    MattF Member

    Messages:
    9,910
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England
    I'm wanting/tempted to like your finished welder post above, but, Record blue.... :D
     
    Turbo likes this.
  7. Adam Marshall Member

    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire England
    I have the Oxford Bantom 180 it's a great welder, I picked it up from Peterborough in my wife's ford ka (the 2004 model) with my wife in the front and my two kids in the back. Needless to say I was doing 30 the whole way home. (70 miles away). I still use the welder now and again for heavier welding but now I have a decent mig I use that more.
     
  8. Fortis

    Fortis Member

    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland ,Auldearn
    Hi, I've had the Pickhill Banham for a few years now, work fine until about two yrs ago when it started tripping the power, today I thought I'd give it another go, still the same tripping going on. Going to check out the 240 power lead. Anything else I can check, or is the welder goosed. Photos of said welder. Is it wired correctly for 240 single phase.

    Sean
     
    • IMG_20190929_122309.jpg
    • IMG_20190929_122253.jpg
    • IMG_20190929_122257.jpg
  9. brightspark

    brightspark Member

    Messages:
    26,851
    Location:
    yarm
    when you say tripping the power do you mean a miniature circuit breaker or the rcd earth trip switch
     
    WorkshopChris likes this.
  10. Fortis

    Fortis Member

    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland ,Auldearn
    Trips the breakerin the house, I have my shed wire directly into house socket. Works my other welder flawlessly.

    Thanks for reply
    Sean
     
  11. WorkshopChris Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    4,376
    Location:
    South East Essex
    We need to know if it is an MCB or RCD to get an idea of what might be happening.
    MCB- works on an overload principle like a fuse.
    mcb.jpg
    Or a RCD Detects a possible fault to earth.
    rcd.jpg
     
    brightspark likes this.
  12. brightspark

    brightspark Member

    Messages:
    26,851
    Location:
    yarm
    if its the breaker what size is it my 180 amp takes out the 32 amp b type break the second i turn it on. realy should be a c type but im 2 lazy to change it
     
    WorkshopChris likes this.
  13. WorkshopChris Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    4,376
    Location:
    South East Essex
    Also, something else to consider if the supply is tapped into a house circuit is what other load does the circuit already have on it?
     
    slim_boy_fat likes this.
  14. mtt.tr

    mtt.tr Member

    Messages:
    966
    Essex England

    im quicker than mains frequency hit the zero point perfect

    i mean i push the breaker on enough times to saturate the coil

    as an aside i would like to put a zero crossing relay on my 110 tranny bit embarrassing when you kill your customers tv, they dont like it!!! wish i was a well kept house wife.

    ** correction newer information suggests peak voltage turn on is best time to switch and inductive load, which immediately seems odd, but looking the the wave form of volt and current it makes sense**
     
  15. Fortis

    Fortis Member

    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland ,Auldearn
    Think I might found the problem, the hi volt connection was bad inside the welder, as in when I took the leads off the head of the copper bolt broke away inside the welder. Now sorted the bolt (touch wood) welder turns on and welds beautifully.

    Thanks all, no doubts you'll hear from me again

    Sean
     
    • IMG_20190929_140545.jpg
    • IMG_20190929_140858.jpg
  16. Fortis

    Fortis Member

    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland ,Auldearn
    How does the saying go again, involves chickens, welders cut out nd won't fire up again, think I'm beating a dead dog here, real shame because it was laying some lovely welds.... Unless someone on here has any ideas what to look at that might be the problem?

    Sean
     
  17. Fortis

    Fortis Member

    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland ,Auldearn
    Any ideas as to why the welder won't even power on guys. I'm not very astute when it come to electrics

    Sean
     
  18. Hood

    Hood Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    9,115
    Location:
    Carnoustie, Scotland
    There must be an open circuit somewhere. It could be in the incoming supply wiring or it could be the transformer itself has burnt out or a broken connection on the output side.

    Only way to find out would be with a meter and if you are not confident with electricity then the best way would be with the welder switched off and use an ohm meter to check for continuity.
     
  19. Fortis

    Fortis Member

    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland ,Auldearn
    Thanks will try that .

    Sean
     
  20. Fortis

    Fortis Member

    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland ,Auldearn
    Embarrassed to say it was the 13amp fuse . I've since fitted a 16 amp plug and been welding on and off all morning with no issues . So now I'm on the lookout for a decent auto darkening helmet for around £30 ish .

    Sean
     
    brightspark and Hood like this.
Advertisements