Paint confusion.

1. Ianbrown New Member

Hi,

I saw this forum pop up time and time again on my long and confusing search through Google for paints that are suitable for my needs.

I am a motor mechanic by trade but a complete novice with paint. My head is spinning with all the different kinds.

Basically I have started hydrodipping, mainly as a hobby but hopefully something that will eventually make me some money. I bought my tank used and it came with a range of 2k paints, paints marked "basecoat", and 2k clears.

I can't use the 2k as Ill be working in my garage attached to my house with little to no ventilation and only have a 3m half mask, painting suit, gloves and goggles.

In light of the dangers of iso contained in the hardener for 2k paint and my lack of safety equipment I have a few questions on my alternatives.

If you could answer these questions knowing I will be painting mainly PP, ABS plastics, steel, alloy and occasionally wood and that I can't use cellulose base coat as it reacts to the ink when hydrodipping and air drying is my only option.

1. Does basecoat(mixed 50:50 with thinners )contain iso? If not are we safe to use 3m mask and will the finish be sufficient for small projects(engine covers ect)
    2. 1k clears - are they any good? Can this be applied over 50:50 base coat.
    3. 1k cellulose primer - can 50:50 base coat be applied over this?
    4. I have some mipa 2k to 1k converter. I plan on using this to enable to to use up all the 2k base I've inherited. Will this be ok.
    5. Water based - opinions? This would be my first option with 1k clear over the top.
    6. Intercoat clear - when mixed with thinners does this contain iso.
    6. Do any of the above contain iso to the point I would need an air fed mask?

Top and bottom of this is I'm looking for a safer alternative to 2k without compromising finish or durability ... Too much.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

Ian

barking mat likes this.
  2. barking mat

barking mat Member