one for the professional arc welding guys

1. duncans

duncans Member

hello I've been on here a short while and what I've learned after advice and reading threads is if you are welding 6mm angle iron to use welding rods not to mig weld 6mm
    but this fabrication shop I've been buying angle iron from they are welding these big frames using the MIG welder I can see the mig is 3phase but a bit baffled

2. Welderpaul

Welderpaul Moderator Staff Member

There's nothing wrong with mig welding 6mm. If there is, we're in serious trouble:whistle:

3. duncans

duncans Member

thank you for that welder paul at least I've learned something as im only a hobbyist

Welderpaul likes this.
  4. Hood

Hood If it walks like a duck....

Most likely what has been said is that if you have a smallish mig then 6mm will be too much so better to stick weld it.

MCKDAVID and hunter27 like this.
  5. bourbon Member

It's about roots and building the weld up as I understand it. ( or am I talking ********?)

6. Brad93

Brad93 M J B Engineering

Hobby migs of 160A or less just haven’t got the power for 6mm thick steel.
    With a bigger mig of 300, 350, 400A you can weld steel of any thickness.

if you’ve got a 160A stick welder you can weld 3.2mm rods at 130A all day long and you’re going to be getting adequate fusion.

Feet 'n Inches, metalmelt and tom2207 like this.
  7. Parm

Parm Oh how I’ve missed my play pen this year

Not all welders are equal

indy4x and metalmelt like this.
  8. tom2207 Member

Basically , if you have enough power you can mig just about anything , a lot of us are limited to single phase and a house supply .

metalmelt likes this.
  9. Brad93

Brad93 M J B Engineering

There’s not much you can’t weld with 300-350A to be fair.
    1.0mm or 1.2mm wire provides a high current density, you’ll have no problem penetrating 1” thick material.

Sensibly sized cover passes and you’ll have no problems.

metalmelt and Munkul like this.
  10. grim_d

grim_d Unlikeable idiot.