1. seabod Member

4663B508-FA93-407F-84C0-BA370918B538.jpeg 2935BF73-B38C-4718-89EB-4750658CC92C.jpeg Hi all, my name is Sean I work in the aircraft trade and have been lurking on here for a while. Car was due for M.O.T start of next month I’ve always fixed / repaired my own cars as I’m a qualified mechanic and was in the train for 4 years. I’ve never attempted body work before but the rear sill on my Focus has gone so thought how hard can it be :doh:. Had very limited funds so brought a not so mighty sealy 100 gassless. I’ve literally just done my first 6 passes but started raining. Was set to high power first two runs to purposely blow trough to see what I could expect, wire speed at 3. Then there on set to low and wire speed set to 4-5 also using pulse technique on the last run. So here they are my first welds :dontknow: any advice.

2. seabod Member

Sorry forgot to mention this is 1.2mm mild steel so not the best to practice on

3. cumbriasteve

cumbriasteve Moderator

Hi

No good sugar coating it but those 'welds' leave a lot to be desired.

Gasless is not the nicest to use, gasless on thin steel even less nice and a newbie with thin steel and gasless is a hell of a challenge you have set yourself, hence the results you have.

If you were close enough I would have invited you to fetch the machine over because I suspect even someone with decent experience would find it a challenge.

The only thing I can suggest is get some thicker steel to practice trying to lay a bead and get some of the initial learning in with reduced chances of blowing through.

My worry is the problems you face with the equipment you have may put you off learning and that would be a shame, it's a great hobby if the equipment is working well.

4. seabod Member