Newbie question

1. Kevlincs New Member

Hi, new to the forum. Sorry this is a big long...

I have no experience welding and until recently no interest. I have brought a campervan and while it is ok it will need some welding soon and a bit more across the next couple of years.

This has set me wondering how viable it is to learn to do this myself. My dad is not a welder but can "stick 2 bits of metal together" (his words), has told me not to bother as it's thin metal. As said I have no experience but I am a reasonably practical guy.

I have had a look round the forum a bit and know the advice here is usually watch the videos and crack on but I was wondering if it's worth trying a days lesson I have seen advertised to get some basic knowledge and see how I get on. College courses in the evening won't work due to work commitments so a one day lesson seems the best option.

Any thoughts on the above would be greatfully received.

Thanks Kev

2. pedrobedro

pedrobedro Man at Matalan

It's worth trying just to see if you have any aptitude for it. Just remember working on a bench in class is different to welding under a vehicle in adverse conditions and the majority of the work is cutting, cleaning and fabricating to get the repair ready before you even go near it with a torch. A friend of mine said you can teach a monkey to mig weld in half an hour, we tried and they don't have the concentration for it and keep knocking off for a grape break.Your other option is to save the money you would spend on tackle and a welder and get someone else to do the work but you are putting yourself in their hands and leaving yourself open to possible bodgers and charlatans.

Nick DV and BarrieJ like this.
  3. frank horton

frank horton V twins are great but 4"s rule.........

Might be somebody on this forum that’s actually welding a rusty body...near u...
    Be good to look at how it's done.....
    Cleaned up rusty - painted -sealant contaminated metal needs a skill on it's own....