Newbie O/A Kit Advice

1. Headboard New Member

Hi everyone, I’m a newbie to the forum, and to welding in general (apart from a few rubbish attempts over the years). I’m looking for recommendations on kit to buy (second-hand) for O/A cutting and brazing shenanigans. Seen quite a few bits for sale, and just need to know what to look out for when buying, if things are obsolete etc. Any advice gratefully received, ta in advance :)

2. willie.macleod

willie.macleod Member

New kits are not expensive, certainly not compared to the costs involved with the fuel itself. Unless you can be sure the kit is complete and has good hoses, working regulators and flashback arrestors I'd be tempted to buy new. Buying unknown secondhand stuff might end up costing you more if you have to look at replacing hoses, regs and flashback arrestors.

3. Screwdriver

Screwdriver Member

UK London
    If you can find a gas saver for sensible money, buy one.

outofthefire likes this.
  4. brightspark

brightspark Member

as above good advice :)there's some expensive old crap for sale second hand on ebay and just suitable for the bin . unless it looks mint and hardly used and is all there keep well clear

5. Headboard New Member

Thanks folks, what’s a rough estimate of prices if buying new, including gas? Any recommendations on manufacturers / suppliers?

6. Screwdriver

Screwdriver Member

UK London
    In my experience, Oxy has become unpopular among hobbyists many of which will have minty new unused old kit for sale. You see a fair bit of unused older equipment but it can degrade over time so plan on installing new seals etc.

read up on all the safety procedures and find a good spot for the bottles, follow recommendations by the book. Very easy to “accidentally” route your hoses next to where you might be welding and a ton of other pitfalls that you can easily avoid just by studying the subject.