Need some help.

1. shaan New Member

I'm having some troubles welding new sheet metal into a car.

While spot welding it penetrates and sticks to the new metal but it does not penetrate the existing metal.

The existing metal of the car is +-1,5mm
    The new metal is also +-1,5mm
    The area is around 20cm long and 4cm high.

The existing metal is cleaned, to shinny bright silver metal.
    The ground is placed next to the welding area on cleaned metal,
    The MIG weld wire is flux core and the machine is from Deca.

Im new to welding and i have tried turning the wire speed up and down as well as the voltage. This resulted only in burn troughs and sputtering.

I hope this is enough information, and that somebody is able to help me why it is not able to penetrate en stick to the car (existing metal).

Greetz Shaan

2. Lazurus

Lazurus Member

Some pictures of the metal and your setting may help.

3. shaan New Member

At this moment the car is back on its wheels so im not able to take good pictures.

the steel is now fixed at three points, and it looks real bad, at all other points the weld will not bound with the car.

The metal was clean but now a yellowish color is over it after all the welding tries.

• IMG_20190710_171040.jpg
  4. 500e

500e Always buy fire insurance a flood is hard to start

Are you sure it is not Galvanised the yellow suggests it is\ was

5. eddie49 Member

Before starting this job, did you practice MIG welding at your workbench?
    The best way to gain this new skill would be to just lay down simple straight weld beads on new clean 2 - 3mm steel, then some simple lap and butt and fillet joints. You can post pictures on here for comment and advice. After perfecting that, move on to the harder tasks like thinner metal, old dirty/rusty metal, and the tough job of welding in awkward positions under a car. Even skilled welders can find that difficult.
    Are you using an automatic, self-darkening helmet? That is definitely to be recommended.