My 2nd shed build.

  1. gaz1

    gaz1 Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    westyorkshire
    240 for a big one in the covid area

    i refuse to put wood in the skip went straight for wood incinerator and burnt it all

    20200318_171851.jpg 20200320_204255.jpg 20200427_151820.jpg
     
    Olderisbetter likes this.
  2. vw1

    vw1 Member

    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    solihull uk
    Good on you I did start off burning wood but I got board of it quickly . I got skip and got rid of all sorts so for me it paid off .
     
    gaz1 likes this.
  3. gaz1

    gaz1 Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    westyorkshire
    i know that feeling

    but i did get rid of all this roof beams and joists as well as the insulating timbers inside of the property had days of burning the stuff

    20200604_162137.jpg

    barrel version of it

    20200530_223014.jpg

    worth the tenner and a few hours then 240 even if paid someone to burn all day long in it its so worth it
     
    vw1 likes this.
  4. vw1

    vw1 Member

    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    solihull uk
    I must get one for future ☺️
     
  5. vw1

    vw1 Member

    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    solihull uk
    Super hot day yesterday but I managed to do some. So am please with progress . 70mm insulation will be next as I had a few boards left over from my other shed build.
     
    • IMG_20200729_185351.jpg
  6. gaz1

    gaz1 Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    westyorkshire
    im asking for your thickness of wood used

    but ive also noted your spacings are wrong under the framing

    is it staying in situe or being moved
     
  7. vw1

    vw1 Member

    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    solihull uk
    6x2 was almost given to me so not to be passed up. Yeah I know it's wrong after seeing other builds . But two late now. It's starting where it is now.
     
  8. TechnicAl

    TechnicAl Member

    Messages:
    7,709
    Location:
    Rotherham
    I do the same
     
    Morrisman likes this.
  9. TechnicAl

    TechnicAl Member

    Messages:
    7,709
    Location:
    Rotherham
    @RonMig sorry I didnt see your post
    Here is my gazebo.....its a bit high and the rain comes in.....Id like to put sides in but I think it would look a mess

    and the roof needs something....built it in 2013

    gazebo1.jpg gazebo2.jpg
     
  10. RonMig

    RonMig Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Wow, I like that!
    What does the roof need? Looks good to me :)
     
  11. TechnicAl

    TechnicAl Member

    Messages:
    7,709
    Location:
    Rotherham
    at least...scraping and painting......its actually rotting at the ridge
     
  12. Morrisman

    Morrisman Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    2,312
    Location:
    Staffordshire, England
    Looks very posh. :D Whats the chance of taking the load off and cutting 6” or more out of each leg to drop it down?
     
  13. gaz1

    gaz1 Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    westyorkshire
    either go up or go down you have plenty of bricks so go down and you can use your frame to get the bricks level

    lay those every 3ft apart apart or do the ones at ends middle and far end let them set and when lowering make a bed of cement and put brick onto it and lower the frame down to the new height the cement will push out to new level until rested on the old solid bricks prebuilt there
     
  14. TechnicAl

    TechnicAl Member

    Messages:
    7,709
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Its possible....Ive got a jack that would do it....its finding the enthusiasm
     
    Morrisman likes this.
  15. gaz1

    gaz1 Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    westyorkshire
    if your going to drop it do 3 cuts on each leg 2 horrizontal and the middle one vertical it also means you can rebolt the bottom easier and glue it all up

    droping all legs an 1" at a time until you get your desired height
     
  16. vw1

    vw1 Member

    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    solihull uk
    Basically the slabs run out from one end to the other . So I used blue engineering brick at the highest end bedding on sand and cement with DPM.

    At the lowest point concrete blocks on a bed of sand and cement with DMP between block and timber.

    Then that got my leavels on all four corners. I then added random blocks in where I could .

    I then used brackets fixed to all four corners of timer to concrete blocks .

    I did what thought was best at the time.
     
    gaz1 and Morrisman like this.
  17. vw1

    vw1 Member

    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    solihull uk
    Hi I haven't even started the walls yet but I will be using 4x2 for walls. But unsure on on roof was going for flat roof one end higher than other allowing for fall off.

    Overall size of base is 12x9ft so what would be best size for roof lumber ? 5x2 ?

    It will have 18mm osb3 on top of roof rafters then maybe that rubber epmd ? If that what it's called.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020
  18. TechnicAl

    TechnicAl Member

    Messages:
    7,709
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Remember with that rubber you cant nail it down......and glueing it isnt easy when youve never done it before

    Ive got felt on mine plus Rhinoflex which is fibre glass felt. It seals around the nails
     
    vw1 likes this.
  19. gaz1

    gaz1 Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    westyorkshire
    pref 5x2 for the 9ft gap
    6x2 for the 12ft gap

    factor in your stood on it and also boarding it also stick to 16" spread but can go wider the wider you spread the rafters the more it bows in the middle when your stood on it
     
    vw1 likes this.
  20. vw1

    vw1 Member

    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    solihull uk

    It's over the 9ft gap so I will go with 5x2 with 16 on center's .

    Thank you.

    Not 100% on the roof covering yet most likely I will go with the easy option and give it good quality felt ?
     
Advertisements