MOT fail forces return to the 80's

1. CyberPaddy66

CyberPaddy66 New Member

Hi guys and girls :D

I used to be a mechanic back in the 80's and went to college to do a part 1 Gity & Guilds course in Motor Vehicle Mechanics which is where I learned how to weld with a stick welder before working in a garage for 6 months. Jump forward 10 years and I got frustrated with stick weldng and threw in the towel on fixing my van which I scrapped and haven't welded anything since.

Cut to 1 month ago when I found out my MOT had run out and then it failed on Brake pipes, a ball joint and the rear sill ends on both sides, the brake pipes and ball joint I can do but ended up getting a quote of 3 hours (approx £150) of welding from the garage. Cheched the finances and realised that I can't afford to pay someone to fix the car so ended up buying the chepest MIG welder I could find on ebay, was looking at getting a 2nd hand Clark 151 but chose instead to get a beand new welder to be safe so I have a JUBA Mig 100 IP21 on the way which whould arrive the day after tomorrow.

I hope that the job is an easy one and that I get to grips with the Mig welder, I've watched loads of videos so think I should be OK but just incase I start to struggle I figured I would register and say HI.

Does anyone have any experiance with the sill ends on a Mazda 323f 1991 BG?

jsf55 likes this.
  2. Carl Wilson Member

Welcome to the forum. I'm sure there will be somebody here who can help you.

3. frank horton

frank horton V twins are great but 4"s rule.........

best advise is to make sure back to clean rust free metal.....sometime even if rust free on the OUTSIDE it will have corrosion on the inside making the sill quite thin......
    best to get a few off cut from a skip or sheet metal shop and practice the welding........
    THEN try welding laying on the floor doing it upside down and over ya head.........hahaha......loads'a fun.....
    good luck......

slim_boy_fat likes this.
  4. Dcal Member