MIG weld or MIG brazing for stainless steel. Thoughts and advice please.

1. Antibob

Antibob Member

Evening all,

I am new to welding, except the bit of practice I got making myself a trolley to sit my MIG on, I have a furlough project to make a bed frame from stainless 304 tube (1", 3/4 and 1/2) all 1.2mm wall.

I was planning on welding using 308Lsi but got reading about mig brazing and wondered if it might be an option for my project.

Advantage seems to less heat resulting in less HAZ and less cleanup. Uses pure argon which is easier to get (in rent free bottles) than 98% argon 2% co2 which seems to be recommended for stainless.

Disadvantage is the wire is more expensive.

Sounds like there is a learning curve involved but I am on a steep learning curve anyway.

Any thoughts or recommendations.

Thanks

2. gaz1

gaz1 Member

stick to normal steel more than stainless steel

and your wrong on your sizes 2x1 1mm is bed frames with also a 1x1 1mm welded to it thats how most bunkbed frames are made

i prefer a pine bed myself easy to repair or adapt ive broke enough beds over the years dont like metal ones they can creak and groan something shocking

kids on metal bunkbeds is a big no no once the frame is bent its near on time to get a new bed

just warning you been there and seen so many bed frames thrown out ive had enough scrap for years to practice on

metalmelt likes this.
  3. Antibob

Antibob Member

Too late, already bought the tube. I am copying an existing bed so got the sizes from that.

4. TechnicAl

TechnicAl Member