Metal Core on F22 experiences?

1. oliwb Member

We've been asked to look at doing a single-vee butt weld in the horizontal on rotated pipe using a metal-core (low hydrogen) wire in F22. I'm assuming this means an E70C-M6 wire but am not 100% sure. Has anyone done anything like this before & able to share any wisdom?

Thanks in advance,
    Oli.

2. Tom Orrow L

Tom Orrow L Welding Supplies Direct

Never used the specific wire you mention, I have limited experience with metal cored wires but whenever i've welded with them it's an absolute treat. Very small amounts of spatter, get them into spray arc and the arc feels incredibly smooth, barely any clean up time and travel speed can increase quite a bit.
    Welded with some Bohler HL 46 t-MC a couple of weeks ago and was extremely impressed.

3. Brad93

Brad93 M J B Engineering

ESAB Coreweld 46 LT is another good one.

And there’s Tubrod 14.12 or is it 14.13 I forget. That’s a great wire.

Tom Orrow L and Richard. like this.
  4. TechnicAl

TechnicAl Member

Look Im out of touch with current specs etc....but isnt F22 2Cr1Mo steel?.....and isnt E70C-M6 a mild steel wire?
    I should check it out

5. oliwb Member

Yes - 2Cr1Mo. Like I say I'm not sure what wire we should be using here. I just know it needs to be a low-hydrogen consumable and therefore solid wire is out. F22 has a yield of about 70-80ksi hence my assumption. Very happy to take any advice going!

6. oliwb Member

7. Munkul Member

Cumbria, UK
    solid wire IS a low hydrogen consumable... but maybe not low enough for the application? Or maybe specific toughness properties needed...
    Whoever does your weld procedure testing, maybe ask them and see what they've seen that works?

8. TechnicAl

TechnicAl Member

Solid wire is a Low Hy consumable.........2Cr1Mo pipe is usually welded using a 1CrMo TIG root and filled with 2CrMo sticks or solid wire or cored wire....usually a procedure exists or one is developed.

9. Wonderweaver

Wonderweaver Member