Little help please..

1. RiPz Member

i'm restoring a classic Mini, doing it all myself, borrowed a clarke 100E Mk2 mig welder from a friend and got to work..

when i got the welder it had 0.6mm wire in it, and it would quite often slip on the drive wheel, i carried on regardless, and compensated for the slipping, got used to it, and came out with some nice welds... now.. i ran out of the 0.6mm wire.. so i bought 0.8mm.. now here's the problem..

the 0.8m wire doesnt slip at all, but the actual welds are going. odd.. its not arcing as i weld.. its arcing on first contact.. but then its just melting the wire.. just making it glow cherry red, rather than arcing all the way along... i know it shouldnt be doing this but just wondered what the solution would be.. more power, more wire speed, less wire speed, less power, what... i'm a novice really when it comes to these things :D

Thanks

RiPz

2. malcolm

malcolm & Clementine the Cat

Welcome to the forum RiPz,

The wire burning away would either be due to the wire speed being too low, or the power being too high. I'd try the wire speed first then mess with the power (to increase penetration or stop it blowing holes).

Normally when you increase the power to weld thicker plate you will also need to increase the wire speed. I often practice off the car on some scrap to get the settings right before welding.

The drive wheel for the wire should have a groove it in that is sized to suit the wire thickness. Normally the wheel is reversable with one groove for 0.6mm wire and another for 0.8mm wire. If the 0.6mm wire was slipping then it's possible that it was running on the 0.8mm groove - in which case 0.8mm wire would sort the problem. It's worth checking which groove you are using- I'd imagine using the 0.6 groove on 0.8mm wire could also cause wire feed problems.

What year is the Mini?

3. RiPz Member