Kemppi 2000 master Tig/Arc - Worth repairing?

1. Dr Strangeglove Member

I have a Kemppi master 2000 (or something like that) tig/MMA welder in three phase. I have been told it is a good machine but requires some repair.

It needs a new Printed Circuit Board and some switches repairing. I have a quote of £244 plus vat for this work to be done.

Although he set has MMA leads, it will require a tig torch which I have been quoted at approx £150 + vat (I think it needs a slightly different plug than a standard torch!).

What I need to know is

A) Is the machine worth repairing?
    B) Could I do it cheaper (i.e. - buy the PCB myself and fit it (is this hard to do?)). I think the switches have the stalks/knobs missing so about four would be replaced - is this a simple job if I can get replacement switches?
    C) Can I get a torch cheaper? - This will need the correct plug or and adaptor to suit!

As always any help is received with thanks!

Regards

Mick

2. I had and still have the same model, same problem...My big kemmpi set also had a simlar problem with a PCB......both I had fixed...

The PCB was simlar money for my sets, Yes I would say its worth doing, but make it clear no fix no money, and your not an open walet... personaly I wouldnt do it myself unless youve got a super cheep pcb out an old machine to try, paticualy as they say theres a couple of switches also, that board is proberbly £180 worth.....If they cook it then its there problem...

Have you got a water cooler and do you know what size torch youve been quoted on, also have you a foot pedal or is a torch with latching..... any torch will fit but you need the right torch for your set if that makes scence...

Kemmpis are good machines, so there worth spending a bit of money on.........

Edit 350amp water cooled torch is normaly around the £70 mark.

3. shenion

shenion Tool Pack Rat