Hydraulic press mods

  1. dieselsamurai

    dieselsamurai Too many projects not enough time!

    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Hampshire
    its a 30ton ram designed to operate at a max of 700bar its going to to close enough for me :laughing: Its a lot better than nothing and I cant justify spending £200 on just a gauge
     
    Hopefuldave and Munkul like this.
  2. Munkul

    Munkul Jack of some trades, Master of none

    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Cumbria
    I don't see any need for a tonnage gauge when a pressure gauge directly relates to tons.

    This is a really nice solution! Easy to work out, easy to make a chart, and you can get good quality pressure gauges cheap enough if accuracy is important :)
     
    mtt.tr, James1979 and dieselsamurai like this.
  3. Hopefuldave Intergalactic pot-mender

    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    The Shed of Danger, surrey, England
    Nope, but he can measure the ram diameter (or to be more accurate, the ram plus moving seal or the cylinder bore?) and calculate tonnage from PSI x ram area - back of a fag-packet, that would be for a 2.7" (maybe 2.75") diameter ram?

    Dave H. (the other one)
     
  4. Seadog

    Seadog Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    6,973
    Location:
    NE London - UK
    It's a rear acting cylinder, so measure the bore and you can calculate the pressure directly.
     
  5. dieselsamurai

    dieselsamurai Too many projects not enough time!

    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Fitted perfectly got really lucky with thread just need to measure bore now any ideas?
    Ram is 60mm cylinder is 85mm what do you think wall of cylinder would be ? I'm more used to double acting rams where piston is bigger than ram I guess on this bore will equal ram size.
    20201113_170041.jpg
     
  6. dieselsamurai

    dieselsamurai Too many projects not enough time!

    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Hopefuldave and Brad93 like this.
  7. dieselsamurai

    dieselsamurai Too many projects not enough time!

    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Hampshire
    making an adapter to go on end of ram as threads are knakered and will be a pain to strip ram down to bore out center

    20201114_141854.jpg

    will have a 1" bore so some of the tooling i already have fits

    20201114_141809.jpg
     
    slim_boy_fat likes this.
  8. dieselsamurai

    dieselsamurai Too many projects not enough time!

    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Finally got some time to make adapter today

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    decided to make it with a spring return as ram takes ages to return without assitance
     
    Hopefuldave and slim_boy_fat like this.
  9. dieselsamurai

    dieselsamurai Too many projects not enough time!

    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Against popular opinion I decided to base the table on 2 bits of 6x6 RSJ and was a good test for my bandsaw, came out really straight so pleased about that I really didnt fancy my chances of it being that accurate with a petrol saw !

    20201115_201143.jpg 20201115_201447.jpg
     
    cr500dom likes this.
Advertisements