Hunting for a psu.

  1. WorkshopChris

    WorkshopChris Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    5,046
    Location:
    South East Essex
    At least its hardware once you have learnt it that's it you know it, with a software version you just work it all out, then it gets updated and you are on the back foot till you work out what's changed.
     
    Hopefuldave and eLuSiVeMiTe like this.
  2. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    I bought a smaller desk with the same components for £1.99. That was the real bargain as it had the very rare 5 rail PSU with it and gave me a load of spare components
     
    Hopefuldave and WorkshopChris like this.
  3. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    And wired up
     
    • IMG_20201102_151217_565.jpg
    • IMG_20201102_151209_201.jpg
  4. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    Some odd little artifacts when monitoring on headphones. Left it running for a few hours.


    Will be rewiring it soon. Playing Tonight have me some idea of how to proceed
    Wire up my second patchbay to bring all my interface Io to the front. And il also bring the buss inserts and multitrack outs into it.

    Gonna have to sketch it out and get my head around it. Another bout of cable making to come.

    Filters/eq are lovely and great for the synths

    Definitely worth the 40 notes.
     
    Gragson and WorkshopChris like this.
  5. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    It's still evolving. Waiting for some ts leads for the aux so running my rack FX through the buss Inserts ATM.

    Wired a few more leads Into the patchbay to make use of the l+r on the above

    8 tape outputs from the buss are fed to the Io and into the pc
    Don't really need more than that and can't use more than 8 at any one time have the option of using the inserts on the channels themselves if needed

    Mpc is feeding into the desk too. And 2 of the unused buss tape outs are feeding the mpc Inouts

    Starting to make sense of it. PSU seems to be Introducing noise so need to have a look at it

    Quick rack to store my cables in too.
     
    • IMG_20201107_130851_652.jpg
    • IMG_20201107_163317_777.jpg
    WorkshopChris likes this.
  6. WorkshopChris

    WorkshopChris Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    5,046
    Location:
    South East Essex
    In any particular area/stage or across the board?
     
  7. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    It's definetly the PSU
    Been messing about this afternoon.

    Can hear the PSU humming at the same frequency.
    Soon as you lift the faders the hum finds its way through. Same frequency. The more faders open the louder it gets.

    Also becomes very noticeable when solo/pfl is used

    And gets worse the longer it's on.
    Much more noticeable through headphones
     
  8. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    Will pull the supply later. See if I can get details off the caps and the schematics.

    Hum from delamination isn't likely to be passed up the line is it?
     
  9. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    Well I've found the issue with the 48v component w005 bridge rectifier is only held on by 1 leg. Replacement on route.

    seckpsu.gif IMG_20201109_215014_279.jpg IMG_20201109_215022_065.jpg


    Also found a resistor missing. 330ohm can see evidence it was soldered and removed
    And next to it a random 230ohm resistor but the printed board states PH? No idea what it could mean. Any idea?
    IMG_20201109_222624_363.jpg IMG_20201109_215128_982.jpg

    And the only component I can't track down.
    br22 and going by the diagram above I assume it's another rectifier
    IMG_20201109_215051_073.jpg IMG_20201109_215059_778.jpg
     
    • IMG_20201109_215116_295.jpg
    • IMG_20201109_215034_261.jpg
  10. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    5 caps and a voltage regulator changed tonight. Still waiting on 4 caps another voltage regulator and 2 rectifiers.

    Will fit those before looking at resistors and diodes.

    Forcing me to learn.

    The leds now take 30 seconds to fade out when I kill the power .
     
    roofman and WorkshopChris like this.
  11. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    I'm not optimistic though

    Get the feeling I'm going to have to look at the main board in the mixer next.

    Was fairly quiet when I tested it and got worse as it was used
     
  12. minimutly Member

    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire Wales
    You might (or might not) be surprised at how often caps go bad - resistors die because you fry them, caps just die...
     
    eLuSiVeMiTe likes this.
  13. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    There's 9 caps per channel on the board too


    Gonna treat myself to an esr meter
     
  14. minimutly Member

    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire Wales
    They normally go dead short.
     
  15. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    Annoying I can't find the schematics for the PSU I have. Only for the later version

    Similar but not the same.

    This will come in handy though.
     
  16. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    Power supply is rebuild. All caps and rectifiers replaced. Diodes and resistors all appear good.
    Much reduced noise floor but still have a transformer hum.

    Il try a DC filter on the outlet before I go further.
     
    WorkshopChris likes this.
  17. eLuSiVeMiTe

    eLuSiVeMiTe Member

    Messages:
    12,964
    Location:
    Bedfordshire England
    Gonna venture back inside and see if I can sus out the 48v rail just bought a condenser mic for the wife's zoom sessions and would like to be able to eq it before the Io
     
    WorkshopChris likes this.
Advertisements