Home built compressor

1. Stingray Member

Toying with the idea of making my own compressor, logic in doing this would be:
    1) A satisfying little project for the winter time.
    2) Hopefully build a compressor for less than half the price of a new one.
    3) Space in my garage is limited so would like to build a vertical compressor.
    Looking at using a 14cfm cast iron pump and probably a 3hp motor, receiver would be a 47kg propane bottle, so a few questions that maybe some compressor experts could give advice on?
    a) Is this a feasible project and how many people on here have went down the path of building their own compressor?
    b) I am a Welder so have no issues about altering a 47kg cylinder and installing the pipework (10 bar setup c/w safety valve, check valves, manometer, etc)
    c) I am 95% sure how I would start this project but this shall depend on the type of pump, pressure switch, check valve, motor I find for this but does anyone have pictures or simple schematic of their setup?
    d) Does anyone know where the cheapest place to source all the parts or has anyone got anything kicking about that they may not need?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. rtbcomp

rtbcomp Moderator Staff Member

I considered this a few years ago and came to the conclusion that a new compressor would cost less than the bits to make one, unless you've got/can get surplus/used parts.

3. The_Yellow_Ardvark

The_Yellow_Ardvark Member

A new one is cheaper than the sum of the parts to make a one from scratch.

Why not find an old one, restore it and bring it back to life.
    I think that way is more fun and more skills get used.

Davek0974, Hopefuldave and Stingray like this.
  4. Stingray Member