hello all im new to this mig welding

1. duncans New Member

hello how do i get argon bottle fillied as ive just bought a mig welder very cheap its a old one but im sure it will work ok ive got take some wire off the spool as its not that clean but the spol is a big one lol.
    Well the chap hasnt used it in a long time but ive got the argon bottle but not sure where i get it filled any help would be great i live in leicester if that helps .

2. barking mat

barking mat Member

Hi mate, welcome.

Argon? I think you'll want co2 mainly to start learning.

What does the bottle say on it.

Generally, rental bottle, rental free bottle, or disposable. How big is it?

Halfords sell little bottles.

3. eddie49 Member

Is there any indication on the empty cylinder who owns it or who supplied it, and what date, if any, is on the plastic disc under the valve?

Yamhon likes this.
  4. barking mat

barking mat Member

Argon is just for stainless and aluminium ect.

Mild steel co2 with a hint of argon iirc.

Ashley Burton likes this.
  5. duncans New Member

hi mate ill take a picture of the bottle its about 2 1/2 foot tall mate as i only got the mig welder 2nd hand yesterday its quite heavy so im assuming theres some argon in the bottle
    theres also 2 guages that sccrew on the bottle .

6. duncans New Member

i need to get a mask as well seen some post on here about masks lol gloves as well

7. duncans New Member

just went and took pictures of the bottle 4FBBBB7E-0C1C-4653-86A2-FACB0A2A6EAD.jpeg 8E7784A0-7A26-4C05-880A-9A49B687CDDD.jpeg 8E7784A0-7A26-4C05-880A-9A49B687CDDD.jpeg

• E8544375-FCC5-4F3E-9274-DB5068F4F3F4.jpeg
  8. Wozzaaah

Wozzaaah The wizard of woz Staff Member

Wiltshire, UK
    That's pure argon, no good at all for mig welding.
    You need either CO2 or Argon/CO2 mix.

Yamhon and Ashley Burton like this.
  9. mike 109444

mike 109444 Member

uk Bristol
    Other way round Mat :thumbup:

Yamhon and Sean like this.
  10. mike 109444

mike 109444 Member