GYS easymig 160 Vs Clarke 151En

1. Rusty B New Member

just ordered a brand new Clarke 151en for about 280 and just minutes later a gumtree seller got back to me offering a GYS 160 in v.good nick for 350 plus shipping..

should i cancel the order and go for the GYS? .. anyone had experience of both machines and could advise ?

many thanks,

Russ

2. gaz1

gaz1 Forum Supporter

it all depends on what you can afford at the time also factor in the extra gear

500.00 just to start mig welding is alot of money depending on the welder you buy

lets say used same reference you can drop the price to

250.00 becareful of your welders sellers arnt always truthful best to test if they are working

new price with mm vouchers

i know gys is rated on here so is rtech machines as well

ive also noted people who buy cheap to dear machines cant get the hang of mig welding its an high end expense if you cant do it

3. Rusty B New Member

Thanks Gaz... points taken .. i'm no expert but i have a couple of projects under my belt and i've definitely been bitten by it! - and i got the money from a funding body (for a bit of public art) so its not really my money and the grant would just about cover the extra hundred on top of all the other bits an pieces

but yes.. no warranty with the second hand machine and its miles away so id not be able to test it - but the guy says its "excellent condition"

https://www.gumtree.com/p/welding-equipment/gys-160-amp-inverter-mig-welder/1370767819

i like the flexibility of changing the torch and possibly using a stick further down the line.. seems like there would be more controll with the GYS although the Clarke says it should be good for up to 5mm steel - i gather that might be a little bit overstated where as i think the GYS reckons 4mm is about the max ..

4. gaz1

gaz1 Forum Supporter

most brands will only do up to 5mm

i have a cebora 195 and thats guaranteed to do 6mm from richard on the forums

and ive still got to use it yet