Flux Core MIG welding for Automotive Panel work help

1. Luca King New Member

Hi there everyone!

I am beginning the journey of learning how to mig weld, and I am beginning this cool skill on my '79 Corolla wagon project. It just has some panel rust and rust on the lower rad support. Not much, rest is bog work.

I am just unsure of the route I want to take. I will be doing the welding outside, so I have been advised to use flux core as the shielding gas can get blown away. I am doing this on a shoestring budget, as I am a student, and I was thinking of purchasing this (https://www.edisons.com.au/rossi-130amp-mig-gas-gasless-welder-metal-inert-welding-machine-tool/) welder. Plus renting or purchasing gas in Australia I've found, is incredibly expensive and the car I currently drive does not have room for a bottle. It is gas and gasless, so it gives me the options down the road.

For panel rust in a jap car with thin sheet metal, is flux core going to work? If so, what type should I use? Are there any places I can go to watch/read automotive specific mig flux welding?

Any sort of advice or information would be great!

Cheers,
    Luca

2. Shoggi

Shoggi Member

That welder in the link is the same as a wolf gasless mig ,
    I made the mistake of buying one (brand new ebay £100 pounds) when I began the long journey of Learning to weld it was rubbish and was told by a few on here not to purchase but I didn't listen @gaz1

Pigeon_Droppings2 and Luca King like this.
  3. eddie49 Member

For some people, flux-core does work, and they even like it, particularly outside and upside-down, but most find it hot, messy and splattery. There are some Forum members from AUS who may have first-hand advice about gas availability down-under.