First welder for car restoration

1. niels New Member

I'm planning to restore my Citroën 2CV over the coming months (probably years) and it needs a lot of welding at the bodywork. I've zero experience with welding, but I've been always interested in learning the skill. The idea is to build up experience by doing non-car projects (welder cart, small workbench, ...) while working on the car mechanics before attempting to weld the body of the 2CV.

I do have access to a TIG welder (my father-in-law is the son of a retired welding supplies dealer), but after reading and researching it seems that a MIG with a low "starting current" combined with 0.6 mm wire is the way to go for thin sheet (0.8 mm).

I've been searching a lot and trying to read as much as I can about different options. Mind you that I don't live in the UK and it seems that not brands are distributed at this side of the Channel.

At this point my preference is a Jasic MIG 160 which is sold for about € 500 with a 5 year warranty. I first came across the MetalWorks MIG 160E but it looks like a Jasic MIG 160 and it is more expensive and has only 1 year warranty.

There is also the option of an EVO MIG 160 Multi Synergic at around € 620 (and an additional € 50 for a TIG torch) that has caught my eye... A Jasic MIG 200 Synergic is about € 799.

However, I've been pushing the upper limit of the budget (as I started by looking at a € 399 rebranded Punair MIG 200 Synergic) and it looks like it won't stop if I don't make a choice soon. :p

Questions:
    • Is it worth investing in a synergic if I'm not sure I will do a lot of TIG? I will not be investing in 2 gas bottles and I do have access to a pro level TIG only a few blocks from my home.
    • Is there any other benefit of a synergic except for the additional TIG support?
    • How much of a benefit are those LCDs on the welder?
    Cheers,
    Niels

2. a111r Member

Is the Parkside PMSG 200 A1 in your Lidl, stores or on-line?