Complete beginner here is this right?

1. Riot van New Member

[​IMG] [​IMG] Hi

I'm a complete beginner to welding bought my first Mig a Clarke 100. I've plugged it in checked the wire spool is good and set up 2 bits of scrap metal rods in a vice to test the machine. The pic shows the setup. Work piece in vice with earth/return clamp attached and torch ready to go Is this correct? (The silver clamp is just to hold the workpiece in vice)

I'm concerned about being electrocuted that's my main worry with welding so I just want to make sure I'm doing this correctly. As long as the earth clamp is attached to the workpiece I should be OK?

Also can you hold or touch a workpiece while welding or would you get shocked? Cheers

[​IMG]

https://www.flickr.com/photos/29495489@N02/49157677656/in/dateposted/

[​IMG]

2. earthman Member

Photo isn't showing for me.

Memmeddu and Riot van like this.
  3. Craig-SM

Craig-SM Member

[​IMG]

The clamp goes in the piece you're welding so looks ok. If you don't connect it up correctly you won't get the circuit and nothing happens

Riot van likes this.
  4. waddycall

waddycall Member

United Kingdom
    Have you read the tutorials on here? If not click on “MIG” at the top of the page.

stuvy likes this.
  5. Craig-SM

Craig-SM Member

BTW I assume you're not using gas with the connection setup?

6. Pigeon_Droppings2 Member

Personally I'd stick the earth on the main length and then use a pair of mole grips to hold the smaller piece in place but thats just personal preference....then point the wire at the main piece for a first tack.

The way you've set it up looks OK but depending on where you point the wire you may not get a great electrical circuit because the contact area between the two pieces could be very small I think.

7. pedrobedro

pedrobedro Man at Matalan