Butter 181 mig nicked what should I replace it with?

1. johnyev Member

As I put in the title some so-and-so ran off with my rather simple, but very solid second hand Butter 181 mig (and bottle and an air compressor)
    I like the fact the way it was made reminded me of an Aga, simple and solid.
    I’m just a hobby welder and due to a lack of any Redland tiles being available till January, my garage won’t be finished till then. So I’m in no rush.
    I am lucky as I have one local supplier that sells Telwin and another slightly closer that sells Jasic, Eurostar and Ebas (excuse the spelling).
    I recognise if I want to be able to get it mended and get spare parts and consumables then I would do well to support my local supplier.
    If I’m honest I’d buy another Butter tomorrow, but their latest one starts at £1200 quid which is above my budget,
    £500 is more my arena.
    I’ve just noticed on here that GSY are repaired in Rugby which isn’t far, I haven’t heard of these before.

I will be installing a 32amp circuit, breaker and socket although I’m not sure it will ever be needed.
    I would be happy to buy secondhand again.
    Thanks for any input.
    J

2. gaz1

gaz1 Member

not so sure about telwin

go with what you think is best

but yeah agree with you its not easy getting tools to replace after a tealeafs been there

get some security up is my opinion and go for scare them so they dont come back again

3. eddie49 Member

4. johnyev Member

Aga the cooker, big and solid and simple. I didn’t know they made welders!
    As you say 90 amps limits it’s range.

5. johnyev Member

It was a while ago and the new garage with be more secure, hopefully. Obviously you can never stop a determined thief.

6. DAPPH

DAPPH as dyslexik as I'm daft

Near to Cross Hands Llanelli SouthWales GB